Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > POLITICS, LITIGATION AND ACTIVISM > California 2nd Amend. Political Discussion & Activism
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California 2nd Amend. Political Discussion & Activism Discuss gun rights activism and 2A related political topics here. All advice given is NOT legal counsel.

Old 01-29-2007, 10:01 PM

Default Mailing a Rifle

Hey guys. I'm in a bit of a pickle here, but hopefully you guys can help me out. Heres the situation...

I'm a college student, originally from Sacramento. However, I study for the better part of the year in St. Louis, MO. I was at home, in Sacramento, over the Christmas holiday, and I talked my dad into purchasing an M1 Garand from CMP for me. I had him buy it under his name because I am still 5 months short of being 21 years old and I was informed by CMP that they would not ship to anyone under 21. I know that he can give ownership to me without involving an FFL since the gun is over 50 years old, but I'm not quite sure how to get it out here to St. Louis so I can clean it up and shoot it. I'd rather not wait till May to see my rifle, but I'm not familiar with the rules for shipping rifles. Is there any way for my dad to ship the rifle to me, or am I out of luck?

-stu
Old 01-29-2007, 10:11 PM
Banned

Check the USPS page. I'm pretty sure they're happy to handle rifles provided you follow some rules.
Old 01-29-2007, 10:11 PM
Banned

PS can your Dad get me a Garand too? I'm not a citizen yet

Old 01-29-2007, 10:21 PM
Blue Blaze Irregular
CGN Contributor - Lifetime

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefinger
Is there any way for my dad to ship the rifle to me, or am I out of luck?
What is your state of residence?