Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > General gun discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General gun discussions This is a place to lounge and discuss firearm related topics with other forum members.

Old 10-23-2009, 3:26 PM

Default What the hell is wrong with gun stores?

Let me say this: I'm a small business owner in the extreme sport industry, I serve large distributors, smaller mom and pop stores, and the retail customer with a variety of products that we manufacture, market, and sell. I've dealt with 300mil\year distribution company customers, and guys that run stores just on the weekend. Some customers are jerks and small minded, some "get it" and make good money.

It seems, by the vast majority, that every gun store in Southern California seeks to hire people that: A) Don't want to be there B) ACTUALLY know next to nothing about their industry C) THINK they know more than everybody who walks in the door.

I've called probably 5 gun stores today looking to purchase a very specific pistol. I've either wound up transferred to a line that doesn't exist (and consequently been hung up on), transferred to "the gun counter" and had it ring FOREVER and nobody pick up, or been handled by someone with some savage holier than thou attitude.

I'm not a jerk on the phone (I spend most of my day dealing with customers, I know how to act)...and I'm not asking stupid or out of the ordinary questions.

Ex.

Him: Hello, ******* Gun Store?
Me: Hi, I'm looking for a Springfield XD or Smith and Wesson M&P in .40 or .45. I'm looking to pick one up today or order one. Do you carry them?
Him: Haven't seen one.
Me: Do you normally stock them?
Him: Depends.
Me: Could I special order one?
Me: Sweet, thanks for your help.

Ex.

Him: XXXXX Gun Store, how can I help?