Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Old 11-06-2019, 7:58 PM

Default First time riffle loading--223

I hope I don't regret asking this question as there are a whole lot of egos here but here I go. I have been loading straight walled pistol cartridges for 3 years----a little over 80K of them----I've shot about half of those. I've been rather successful with little to know problems. Guess I had a good teacher. Quick start on a rock chucker then right to a 650 and now a 750---and I love the 750. I did a run of 50 pieces of 308 on the RCBS but had riffle problems so never fired those. Here's where I start asking questions----I want to start loading 223. I have asked many questions from people and read several articles. I had one person state---lube, toss in the 650 and go---no trimming just roll with it. I've seen others with two tools heads, one for sizing and trimming and the other for loading. I've seen people get very down into the weeds hundred thousands of an inch for case length. Where is the happy medium? I'm not a clover leaf shooter. I punch holes in paper and shoot steel. Its a fare statement that 223 is easier than larger riffle loads? Is it a fare statement that progressives are made for throw it in the hopper and lets roll? Where's the sweet spot here without turning it into a 7 day project to load 100 rounds. Looking for advice not criticism----too much of that on here at times. Thanks
Old 11-06-2019, 8:22 PM