Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2020, 4:38 PM
Q's Avatar
Q Q is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LA
Posts: 6,195
iTrader: 39 / 100%
Default Canít upgrade to Windows 10

Currently I have windows 7 and my picture viewer window is not working if I click on a thumbnail on my desktop. I can open the pic in another program like paint.

So I figure this means my windows is either damaged or itís out of date.
I tried to do the upgrade to Windows 10 from the links like Forbes but I get the message Iím attaching..

Is it something simple or do I need to call a windows rep?

Error code is 0x00800200 - 090018
This is two error codes?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 83A997EF-5D3C-4D83-9FB3-338BB3AC9301.jpg (15.1 KB, 43 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2020, 6:56 PM
SkyHawk's Avatar
SkyHawk SkyHawk is offline
Front Toward Enemy
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Nakatomi Plaza - 30th floor
Posts: 14,815
iTrader: 169 / 100%
Default

Is this your own PC running retail copy of Windows, or did it come from a corporate environment, or was the OS preinstalled by the PC manufacturer?

What edition of Windows is it (Home, Pro, Enterprise?)

Are you logged in as the local administrator?

Have you tried disabling anti virus before running the tool?
__________________
.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2020, 9:17 PM
Q's Avatar
Q Q is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: LA
Posts: 6,195
iTrader: 39 / 100%
Default

I have two anti virus programs going at the same time I think.

Just my pc. No I haven’t turned anti virus off.
I tried doing the windows 7 update from the menu also but it gives me a temp folder error. There it says there are two updates.

I’ll try this later. The windows is the one I got with the computer parts I put together from Tiger direct and Newegg.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2020, 11:17 PM
DB> DB> is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 266
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

If you have the product key from your W7 install, you may want to just do a clean install of W10 and enter the product key to activate.

The latest builds of W10 seem to have become more finicky, and you can waste a lot of time trying to track down hardware or software compatibility issues. I dealt with one, that just didn't like the chipset in the wireless card...

You are more likely to get a good install from scratch, even if you have to install programs again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2020, 5:39 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Away from large terrorist targets..
Posts: 7,670
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Make USB boot media from a USB stick (8GB seems to be the latest requirement for x64 1909 build I think it was)... Boot to it and install clean, upgrade never worked for me since the free upgrade expired, but the 7 keys work for 10 if you use the same type (x64 or x86).

(The latest tool has given me a couple problems, but only on VMs booting to a USB stick.)
__________________
iPhone VVS PSA: https://youtu.be/Bf_rzQnE2k4 How Apple screws customers: https://youtu.be/g_Dkzj10jeA
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2020, 7:30 AM
ibanezfoo's Avatar
ibanezfoo ibanezfoo is online now
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wimberley, TX
Posts: 7,112
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the86d View Post
Make USB boot media from a USB stick (8GB seems to be the latest requirement for x64 1909 build I think it was)... Boot to it and install clean, upgrade never worked for me since the free upgrade expired, but the 7 keys work for 10 if you use the same type (x64 or x86).

(The latest tool has given me a couple problems, but only on VMs booting to a USB stick.)
The 7 to 10 upgrade works fine depending on your equipment. We've been pushing out the update for our fab facility computers (they just need a web browser and Bluebeam and are essentially just ultra durable heat resistant NUCs). No issues with any of those. Keeps the license data and all that. We are using a script though to change our license stuff and activation to something else we are doing now. That also works fine.

AFTER YOU BACK UP YOUR DATA

You can try booting off the USB media and trying to let it upgrade your current set up. If you have some funky drivers or older equipment the upgrade may fail. Usually it will nag you up front and let you know there could be issues. Sometimes you could brick your whole machine. Its definitely better to wipe and load but in place upgrades can be done.
__________________
"A rational mind does not work under compulsion; it does not subordinate its grasp of reality to anyoneís orders, directives, or controls; it does not sacrifice its knowledge, its view of the truth, to anyoneís opinions, threats, wishes, plans, or ďwelfare.Ē Such a mind may be hampered by others, it may be silenced, proscribed, imprisoned, or destroyed; it cannot be forced; a gun is not an argument."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2020, 8:09 AM
DrewN DrewN is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Orange County
Posts: 825
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

I had to force my home PC to upgrade to Win 10 using a Powershell script. A quick google shows I'm not the only one, here's a pretty straightforward guide from Lifehacker:

http://lifehacker.com/quickly-upgrad...h-t-1840843214
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2020, 3:35 PM
freedom-lover freedom-lover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Norcal
Posts: 431
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

I will trade you my WIN10 for your WIN7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-14-2020, 3:38 PM
Dirtlaw Dirtlaw is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: OC
Posts: 886
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

It's time to move to open source. Unless you trust the big companies for protection and not to sell you out for whatever they can get.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-14-2020, 9:46 PM
Dragunov's Avatar
Dragunov Dragunov is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TEXAS and FREEDOM!!
Posts: 1,580
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtlaw View Post
It's time to move to open source. Unless you trust the big companies for protection and not to sell you out for whatever they can get.
Open source isn't for everyone, Sir.

Last edited by Dragunov; 02-14-2020 at 9:51 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 8:38 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2020, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.
Tactical Pants Tactical Boots Tactical Gear Military Boots 5.11 Tactical