Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2023, 12:26 PM
toro1's Avatar
toro1 toro1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lovin it in Az
Posts: 1,276
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default Mesh Network that can be set up with Computer

I would like to get wifi into my shop and it looks like I will need to set up a mesh network to get it out there. Everything I have found so far requires a smartphone for the initial setup and I would like to find one that can be setup with a computer only as I do not use a smartphone. Does anyone know of a system that allows the nodes to be setup using a computer?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2023, 2:32 PM
psssniper's Avatar
psssniper psssniper is offline
Love God Love People
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Corsicana/San Clemente
Posts: 3,045
iTrader: 196 / 100%
Default

TP link is what I used to set up a network for an outbuilding. Works with PC or phones, I like the iphone as I'm controlling this remotely wherever I may be.
I am no network engineer and it probably shows. I cobbled this together and did the best I could as a senior citizen. If anyone has any suggestions on ways to clean this little network up I'm open. This created an entirely separate network from my Starlink routers network which was my goal.

Starlink satellite wired to a

Starlink ethernet adaptor wired to a

TP-Link TL-SG108PE wired to a

TP-Link OC300 wired to a

TP-Link EAP225 wireless

TP-Link EAP225 wireless

TP-Link EAP225 wireless

The Starlink proprietary ethernet adapter is basically a splitter, one line goes to the Starlink router and the other goes to the TP-link managed switch.

The TP-Link TL-SG108PE is a managed switch with 4 POE ports and 4 ethernet ports

The Omada OC300 is a cloud based network.

The TP-Link EAP225 is an outdoor access point. The first one is hard wired from the Omada's but the rest are wireless but they do require a POE injector
__________________
"I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness; I love only that which they defend.
victus exaro somniculosus, somnus exaro ieiunium
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2023, 2:49 PM
DaveInOroValley's Avatar
DaveInOroValley DaveInOroValley is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In a free state as of 2020
Posts: 8,870
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

I have the Netgear Orbi system. I don’t remember needing a phone for set up. It’s an amazing mesh system as well. I have the main router and two satellites for whole house coverage. I get 750-800 wireless anywhere on the property with a 1GB service.

Last edited by DaveInOroValley; 11-25-2023 at 2:52 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2023, 6:02 AM
toro1's Avatar
toro1 toro1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lovin it in Az
Posts: 1,276
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

psssniper, It is interesting that you were able to setup TCPlink with a computer. I originally bought a TCPlink Decco and after chatting with their tech customer service, was told it cannot be set up with a computer and they had flagged this as a problem to the product line head. I then started checking other mesh networks, and all the ones I checked said they needed to be set up via a downloaded phone/tablet app.

Daveinoro,
Thanks for the orbi info. It looks like that will work for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2023, 12:59 PM
OlderThanDirt's Avatar
OlderThanDirt OlderThanDirt is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dumbfookistan
Posts: 5,300
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Ubiquiti Unifi networks can be set up using a computer interface.
__________________
Quote:
We know they are lying, they know they are lying, they know we know they are lying, we know they know we know they are lying, but they are still lying. ~ Solzhenitsyn
Thermidorian Reaction . . Prepare for it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2023, 5:30 PM
psssniper's Avatar
psssniper psssniper is offline
Love God Love People
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Corsicana/San Clemente
Posts: 3,045
iTrader: 196 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toro1 View Post
psssniper, It is interesting that you were able to setup TCPlink with a computer. I originally bought a TCPlink Decco and after chatting with their tech customer service, was told it cannot be set up with a computer and they had flagged this as a problem to the product line head. I then started checking other mesh networks, and all the ones I checked said they needed to be set up via a downloaded phone/tablet app.
I had to set up my Deco system at another house with an iPhone and also set up this Omada with an iPhone, but everything I have read shows that the Omada can be set up and run with a PC. I could be wrong though
__________________
"I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness; I love only that which they defend.
victus exaro somniculosus, somnus exaro ieiunium
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2023, 6:10 PM
xfer42 xfer42 is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 704
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

I just used a bunch of cheap Netgear WAX610s (used, ebay for $50). I never used a phone, just set to defaults and login. I dont do mesh though, just fast roaming. Each are hardwired and use PoE with the same SSID.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2023, 6:56 PM
hermosabeach's Avatar
hermosabeach hermosabeach is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Bay of Los Angeles
Posts: 18,359
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

I have a deco and I update the device and firmware easily with the app

I guess I have surrendered.

All the deco I have contain at least 2 ports for RJ45 cables.

Having the port gives choices to connect different devices.
__________________
Rule 1- ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED

Rule 2 -NEVER LET THE MUZZLE COVER ANYTHING YOU ARE NOT PREPARED TO DESTROY (including your hands and legs)

Rule 3 -KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET

Rule 4 -BE SURE OF YOUR TARGET AND WHAT IS BEYOND IT
(thanks to Jeff Cooper)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-28-2023, 10:51 AM
Rivers's Avatar
Rivers Rivers is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Shelley, ID
Posts: 1,629
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

I have an Orbi mesh that I set up with my Mac. It's also accessible with my iPhone. As Orbi is a Netgear product, there is a lot of support info and knowledge base. For accessing through my Macs, I just enter the IP address, typically either 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1 in a browser URL. Then the default username and PW. All that info is provided in the instructions with the product, or in the manufacturer's knowledge base.

Personally, I'm happy with the Orbi setup. And I have a detached 4,000 sq ft. workshop/studio/apartment/kitchen with everything getting good coverage.
__________________
NRA Certified Instructor: Basic Pistol Shooting
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2023, 1:30 PM
toro1's Avatar
toro1 toro1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lovin it in Az
Posts: 1,276
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

Thanks all. It looks like there are a few options.


Quote:
Originally Posted by OlderThanDirt View Post
Ubiquiti Unifi networks can be set up using a computer interface.
From my limited understanding, it looks like the Ubiquiti Unifi is much more than just a mesh network, and you buy the pieces you need for your particular problem. Am I understanding things correctly or is there a bundled mesh solution?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-30-2023, 1:42 PM
Dirtlaw Dirtlaw is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor - Lifetime
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: OC
Posts: 3,455
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Amazing smart guys on the board (I have so much to learn).
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-30-2023, 6:32 PM
NoNOS67's Avatar
NoNOS67 NoNOS67 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,161
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toro1 View Post
Thanks all. It looks like there are a few options.









From my limited understanding, it looks like the Ubiquiti Unifi is much more than just a mesh network, and you buy the pieces you need for your particular problem. Am I understanding things correctly or is there a bundled mesh solution?
I've used Ubiquiti products for point-to-point, point-to-multipoint, and mesh applications. Lots of options, but it's not the easiest hardware to configure if you are unfamiliar.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-01-2023, 7:55 PM
toro1's Avatar
toro1 toro1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lovin it in Az
Posts: 1,276
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoNOS67 View Post
I've used Ubiquiti products for point-to-point, point-to-multipoint, and mesh applications. Lots of options, but it's not the easiest hardware to configure if you are unfamiliar.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Thanks for the insight.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-04-2023, 8:42 PM
OlderThanDirt's Avatar
OlderThanDirt OlderThanDirt is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dumbfookistan
Posts: 5,300
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toro1 View Post
Thanks all. It looks like there are a few options.




From my limited understanding, it looks like the Ubiquiti Unifi is much more than just a mesh network, and you buy the pieces you need for your particular problem. Am I understanding things correctly or is there a bundled mesh solution?
Ubiquiti Unifi is not a prepackaged mesh system. However, it's not overly complicated to pick a router and mesh access points. The Unifi system has gotten much more user friendly over the past couple years. After setting up the router, the system automatically detects the access points when they power up and will ask you to adopt the device.

I have three of these systems and have used and abused them for years. I have a mesh point on the roof in Palm Springs that has survived for years in extreme conditions. Since I don't get reliable cell service there, the mesh system has been great for an iPhone and wifi assist. I get a strong wifi signal everywhere on the property and rarely drop calls.

Many of the Unifi routers also integrate their Protect video system (cameras, doorbells, flood lights) and other systems like door locks and phone systems.
__________________
Quote:
We know they are lying, they know they are lying, they know we know they are lying, we know they know we know they are lying, but they are still lying. ~ Solzhenitsyn
Thermidorian Reaction . . Prepare for it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-04-2023, 8:54 PM
DolphinFan DolphinFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,448
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

I just bought the NETGEAR Orbi 960 base + 2 repeaters.
From the reviews I?ve read it?s one of the best and easy to set up.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-05-2023, 9:59 AM
ibanezfoo's Avatar
ibanezfoo ibanezfoo is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wimberley, TX
Posts: 9,546
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DolphinFan View Post
I just bought the NETGEAR Orbi 960 base + 2 repeaters.
From the reviews I?ve read it?s one of the best and easy to set up.
Thats what I set my neighbor up with and he has been happy with it.
__________________
Yes I'm a new world samurai and a redneck nonetheless
Yes I'm a new world samurai
I can read your mind
Check it out I'm like a buzz bomb
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-06-2023, 7:37 AM
toro1's Avatar
toro1 toro1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lovin it in Az
Posts: 1,276
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlderThanDirt View Post
Ubiquiti Unifi is not a prepackaged mesh system. However, it's not overly complicated to pick a router and mesh access points. The Unifi system has gotten much more user friendly over the past couple years. After setting up the router, the system automatically detects the access points when they power up and will ask you to adopt the device.

I have three of these systems and have used and abused them for years. I have a mesh point on the roof in Palm Springs that has survived for years in extreme conditions. Since I don't get reliable cell service there, the mesh system has been great for an iPhone and wifi assist. I get a strong wifi signal everywhere on the property and rarely drop calls.

Many of the Unifi routers also integrate their Protect video system (cameras, doorbells, flood lights) and other systems like door locks and phone systems.
Thanks for the additional info on the unifi/ubiquiti solution and it sounds doable for me. Based on the comments here, I've narrowed things down to the Orbi or Ubiquiti and will keep an eye open for a good sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:30 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2021, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.



Seams2SewBySusy