Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2023, 8:42 PM
freedom-lover freedom-lover is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Norcal
Posts: 521
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default Xfinity Internet Modem to be Kicked off of Their Network?

Received v/m from Xfinity stating my internet modem no longer has the right I don't know - certificates or something or another, and come March they are kicking me off their internet service unless I plunk down some coin for a new modem. Does that make any sense?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2023, 10:17 PM
RudyN's Avatar
RudyN RudyN is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Santa Clara County
Posts: 2,275
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

I though Xfinity rented the modem to you. I would check directly with Xfinity.
__________________
Rudy N
NRA BENEFACTOR MEMBER
CRPA MEMBER
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2023, 8:06 AM
freedom-lover freedom-lover is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Norcal
Posts: 521
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

It is one I purchased when I switched from ATT phone line based internet to Comcast cable-based internet a number of years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2023, 7:32 PM
high_revs's Avatar
high_revs high_revs is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,578
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

it is below their docsys requirement? they emailed me that my modem is not up to the speed i'm paying for, which i'm ok to wait for now. i don't use all the bandwidth so not quite worth forking another $250 or so for a new modem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2023, 1:54 PM
dC0m's Avatar
dC0m dC0m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 436
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

What model is your modem? I've never heard of Xfinity "kicking you off" because you don't meet their requirements/

I've always owned my own modem (it always pays itself off within 2 years), and my current setup is not on-par with the latest and greatest. I believe my Netgear modem is DOCSIS 3.0 when Xfinity is pushing DOCSIS 3.1.

Perhaps your modem is DOCSIS 2.0 and they're letting you know that you're not taking full advantage of the available speed?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2023, 2:00 PM
DaveInOroValley's Avatar
DaveInOroValley DaveInOroValley is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In a free state as of 2020
Posts: 8,869
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

They push that every so often, we have a modem that we bought a little over a year ago and every so often they will email me saying "if you upgrade your modem, your speed will increase" which is nonsense since we currently have both a modem and a wireless router that is more than capable to handle a 1gig download connection.

They also have likely the worse support I've ever seen in the industry. As an example the person on the other end couldn't figure out how to update the Mac address of a new modem when we switched one. They're useless there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2023, 7:25 PM
mrdd mrdd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Posts: 1,996
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freedom-lover View Post
Received v/m from Xfinity stating my internet modem no longer has the right I don't know - certificates or something or another, and come March they are kicking me off their internet service unless I plunk down some coin for a new modem. Does that make any sense?
What brand and model modem is it? To be honest, I just use the app if I need to switch my modem. Did it a few months ago, and it just worked.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-20-2023, 2:09 AM
SilveradoColt21's Avatar
SilveradoColt21 SilveradoColt21 is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor - Lifetime
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: East Bay
Posts: 2,415
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInOroValley View Post
They push that every so often, we have a modem that we bought a little over a year ago and every so often they will email me saying "if you upgrade your modem, your speed will increase" which is nonsense since we currently have both a modem and a wireless router that is more than capable to handle a 1gig download connection.

They also have likely the worse support I've ever seen in the industry. As an example the person on the other end couldn't figure out how to update the Mac address of a new modem when we switched one. They're useless there.
Yeah Xfinity is pretty crappy as far as their customer service and satisfaction, I remember when someone in my household added a subscription to my plan without my authorization I called to get it removed and they removed it along with 3 other things that I didn't tell them to remove .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-20-2023, 8:13 AM
67Cuda's Avatar
67Cuda 67Cuda is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,584
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Xfinity never pushed me to upgrade my 3.0 modem that I own to 3.1. I did it because I wanted what I was paying for. 3.1 was ~$150.
I went from 120MG to over 900MG.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanimal View Post
People that call other member stupid get time off.
So much for being honest.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2023, 9:03 AM
freedom-lover freedom-lover is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Norcal
Posts: 521
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

I just checked and the old Zoom cable modem is DOCSIS 3.0. I called Comcast/Xfinity this morning and they confirmed I needed to hace a DOCSIS 3.1 modem this month! Looking on Amazon, 3.1 modems are like $170 compared to 3.0 modems at 1/3 the price.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-28-2023, 12:32 PM
dC0m's Avatar
dC0m dC0m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 436
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

Is it due to the internet speed plan you chose? Maybe you're not taking advantage of the full speed paid with DOCSIS 3.0?

My modem/router setup that I personally own is also DOCSIS 3.0 and it's been fine for 4+ years now. No Xfinity agent has ever told me otherwise... then again I may have just jinxed it...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-28-2023, 4:26 PM
mrdd mrdd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Posts: 1,996
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freedom-lover View Post
I just checked and the old Zoom cable modem is DOCSIS 3.0. I called Comcast/Xfinity this morning and they confirmed I needed to hace a DOCSIS 3.1 modem this month! Looking on Amazon, 3.1 modems are like $170 compared to 3.0 modems at 1/3 the price.
I suspect that they are discontinuing support for the Zoom modem. I just checked, and it is not on the approved list. I use a Motorola MB8611, and it works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-28-2023, 7:47 PM
SilveradoColt21's Avatar
SilveradoColt21 SilveradoColt21 is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor - Lifetime
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: East Bay
Posts: 2,415
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dC0m View Post
Is it due to the internet speed plan you chose? Maybe you're not taking advantage of the full speed paid with DOCSIS 3.0?

My modem/router setup that I personally own is also DOCSIS 3.0 and it's been fine for 4+ years now. No Xfinity agent has ever told me otherwise... then again I may have just jinxed it...
I remember getting a message on my TV screen that my TV box was an older version and that to take advantage of the "latest and greatest", I needed to upgrade, I said no thanks because the newer boxes don't come with a digital clock display in the front .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-01-2023, 6:58 PM
freedom-lover freedom-lover is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Norcal
Posts: 521
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdd View Post
I suspect that they are discontinuing support for the Zoom modem. I just checked, and it is not on the approved list. I use a Motorola MB8611, and it works fine.
Funny you should mention that - I just ordered the same model off of Motorola's website.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-07-2023, 3:08 PM
ArtieChever10 ArtieChever10 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2023
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I have been using Xfinity internet for a long time now and of course encountered some tech issues along the way. But I am still their client, mainly because their customer support service is one of the best I interacted with in my lifetime. Here https://xfinity.pissedconsumer.com/c...r-service.html I was able to find all contact info I needed and resolve my issues in matter of minutes. Maybe, you will be able to fix your problem this way too.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-16-2023, 9:55 AM
DrjonesUSA's Avatar
DrjonesUSA DrjonesUSA is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,599
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Default

Do you own your own modem?
How much hassle would it cause if your internet went down, until you could buy & install a new modem?

You could just do nothing & see....

Or buy a new modem now, save the hassle & ensure you are future-proofed for a few years.

JMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-16-2023, 9:56 AM
DrjonesUSA's Avatar
DrjonesUSA DrjonesUSA is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,599
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtieChever10 View Post
I have been using Xfinity internet for a long time now and of course encountered some tech issues along the way. But I am still their client, mainly because their customer support service is one of the best I interacted with in my lifetime. Here https://xfinity.pissedconsumer.com/c...r-service.html I was able to find all contact info I needed and resolve my issues in matter of minutes. Maybe, you will be able to fix your problem this way too.

Funny you say that; everyone loves to hate on comcast (myself included) but I've honestly never had a bad experience with their cust. svc.

AT&T cellular too.....

Go figure!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-16-2023, 10:30 AM
DrjonesUSA's Avatar
DrjonesUSA DrjonesUSA is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,599
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Default

This is also helpful:
https://www.xfinity.com/support/arti...d-cable-modems
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-17-2023, 4:05 AM
mrdd mrdd is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow
Posts: 1,996
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

When I switched to Comcast back in 2021, I found a lot of compatibility problems with various devices I have on my wired LAN when I tried using one of their modem / routers. I have an atypical set up. That is why I ended up getting my own modem and a router which work well for my use case. The modem will be good until it fails or I have to upgrade it for some reason.

They don't even know about the router, so I can just keep that until it fails or I decide to get a different one.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-17-2023, 5:25 AM
xfer42 xfer42 is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 704
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrjonesUSA View Post
Funny you say that; everyone loves to hate on comcast (myself included) but I've honestly never had a bad experience with their cust. svc.

AT&T cellular too.....

Go figure!
There was a time when they screwed up the cable modem status. They probably still do it. I ordered the "Bring your own modem" service. After about 3+ years, i realized they had been charging me rent on my own modem for the past 2+ years. That took about 6-7 months to resolve. All of the customer support folks would come to the conclusion that since the MAC address never changed, that meant I never installed my own modem. They said if I didnt return the modem to them, I would be charged $200+. After many many livid calls I got to someone that finally admitted that there is no real record of the modems, just a check box that defaults to "rental" and always defaults to that option when the account is altered. They also said they cannot refund anything beyond 3 months. I took a loss, but I didnt want to lose sleep over it. I realize I should have checked the bill earlier, but even still, it got to the point where they would tell me the issue was resolved, I would get billed again, Id call in, then they would say "Oh, yeah. You never installed your modem. So thats our modem.".

When I submitted it in their forum, a whole bunch of people popped up with the same issue. Theyve taken those down.

Sorry. Flashbacks.

Last edited by xfer42; 11-17-2023 at 5:32 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-17-2023, 8:50 AM
DrjonesUSA's Avatar
DrjonesUSA DrjonesUSA is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,599
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xfer42 View Post
There was a time when they screwed up the cable modem status. They probably still do it. I ordered the "Bring your own modem" service. After about 3+ years, i realized they had been charging me rent on my own modem for the past 2+ years. That took about 6-7 months to resolve. All of the customer support folks would come to the conclusion that since the MAC address never changed, that meant I never installed my own modem. They said if I didnt return the modem to them, I would be charged $200+. After many many livid calls I got to someone that finally admitted that there is no real record of the modems, just a check box that defaults to "rental" and always defaults to that option when the account is altered. They also said they cannot refund anything beyond 3 months. I took a loss, but I didnt want to lose sleep over it. I realize I should have checked the bill earlier, but even still, it got to the point where they would tell me the issue was resolved, I would get billed again, Id call in, then they would say "Oh, yeah. You never installed your modem. So thats our modem.".

When I submitted it in their forum, a whole bunch of people popped up with the same issue. Theyve taken those down.

Sorry. Flashbacks.
Yikes... sorry to hear that!
Yep; it's definitely critical to always check all your bills!!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-17-2023, 10:47 AM
arrix's Avatar
arrix arrix is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PRK
Posts: 1,611
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Just get a 3.1 modem, they are dirt cheap now and much faster. Look on Craigslist, there are used ones everywhere.
__________________
Quote:
There is no week nor day nor hour, when tyranny may not enter upon this country, if the people lose their supreme confidence in themselves -- and lose their roughness and spirit of defiance -- Tyranny may always enter -- there is no charm, no bar against it -- the only bar against it is a large resolute breed of men.

-Walt Whitman
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-17-2023, 11:42 AM
Dan_Eastvale's Avatar
Dan_Eastvale Dan_Eastvale is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 7,268
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Xfinity always gives me their current model.
Yes, it is part of our internet plan. So paying for it.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-17-2023, 12:01 PM
Dnele928's Avatar
Dnele928 Dnele928 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: La Jolla
Posts: 640
iTrader: 17 / 100%
Default

Hey dude, that was a spam call, from some third party trying to sell you a new modem and/or internet service. Do not reply to them, if you do, it will let them know their phishing trip was successful.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-18-2023, 10:24 AM
DrjonesUSA's Avatar
DrjonesUSA DrjonesUSA is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,599
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_Eastvale View Post
Xfinity always gives me their current model.
Yes, it is part of our internet plan. So paying for it.
You know that for barely ~$100 - $150 you can buy your own modem, install it in ~20 min with one call to xfinity, and save yourself the ~$15-20 per MONTH you're throwing to xfinity, right?

Buying your own modem will pay for itself in under a year.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-18-2023, 7:39 PM
MasterChief's Avatar
MasterChief MasterChief is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 284
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Xfinity did some maintenance or repair work in my area about three weeks ago and my internet speed went into the toilet. I get a robo text a week after saying they identified an issue with my service and would send a tech at my convenience. Tech shows up, fixes some corroded connections inside the green box and installs a new white modem/router. Download speed goes from 300Mbps to 330 (averages). No charge.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 5:19 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2021, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.



Seams2SewBySusy