Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Old 10-14-2019, 9:22 PM
Calguns Addict

Default Gas rings lined up after shooting

Hello all,

I took my PA10 to the desert and shot about 150 rounds and when I was cleaning it today the gas rings were all lined up. I know 100% for sure I had them separated into thirds before I started shooting. Does this indicate a problem with the gun and is there something I can do to prevent it?

Thank you
Old 10-14-2019, 9:27 PM

It doesn't matter, and there's no need to prevent it from happening.
Old 10-14-2019, 9:37 PM

The gas rings rotate when you fire the rifle, so I don't think there's an issue with it. After cleaning, you can separate the ring gaps again if you wish.
FWIW, my AR functions fine even when ring gaps are lined up. I still stagger them though after cleaning.
Old 10-14-2019, 10:01 PM
I need a LIFE!!

It’s not a car engine where blow by pressurized the oil

It still worked at the end of the day? Right?

Rule 2 -NEVER LET THE MUZZLE COVER ANYTHING YOU ARE NOT PREPARED TO DESTROY (including your hands and legs)

Rule 3 -KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET

Rule 4 -BE SURE OF YOUR TARGET AND WHAT IS BEYOND IT
(thanks to Jeff Cooper)
Old 10-15-2019, 8:22 AM
I need a LIFE!!

A one piece gas ring solves this.
Old 10-15-2019, 12:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiego619 View Post
Hello all,