Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights If it aims your firearm, post about it here.

Old 08-07-2019, 8:07 AM
Calguns Addict

Default Burris MTAC 1-4x24 IR Scope says it is "Compatible with Night Vision Technology"?

I am a NV noob. Potential legality issues in CA aside...

Explain to me please what Burris means when they say that the Burris MTAC 1-4x24 scope is "Compatible with Night Vision Technology"?

How would that work exactly?

Do they mean you can use a Clip-ON NVG device in front of it? You can do that with any scope right?

Are the "off clicks" in-between" each brightness setting really low NV safe settings? Because the bright reticle would be bad for NVG devices if you could get one behind it...which brings me to me next point.

It would be pretty hard to aim down it wearing NVGs on a bump helmet. So you'd probably be depending on an IR laser rather than looking down the scope? Right?

Help me understand how this would work with this particular scope please.

If this thing will actually work great with NV it might be something I want to hang onto rather than sell. I am just having a failure of imagination here. Help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Old 08-07-2019, 12:04 PM

Quote:
Explain to me please what Burris means when they say that the Burris MTAC 1-4x24 scope is "Compatible with Night Vision Technology"?
That means it has an illuminated reticle with at least one super dim brightness setting.

Quote:
Do they mean you can use a Clip-ON NVG device in front of it?
No, goggles will not strap to the front of the scope. Usually a monocular is attached to the rail behind the scope so that they are in line.

Quote:
You can do that with any scope right?