Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > OUTDOORS, HUNTING AND SURVIVAL > Blades, Bows and Tools
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Blades, Bows and Tools Discussion of non-firearm weapons and camping/survival tools.

Old 11-26-2020, 8:52 AM
I need a LIFE!!

Red face Skinning bears in the Boogaloo, and other knife mysteries...

To start with, I know practically zilch about modern, high-end, EXPENSIVE, knives.

Yes - I've been carrying my Boy Scout pocket knife daily, for 40+ years - I got my whittlin' chip in '78; my Paul Bunyan award in '79 - I know that the only thing a dull blade will cut, is YOURSELF... and other such wisdom from the ol' BSA Hand & Field books. Got Woodcarving merit badge in '79 - taught it on summer camp staff in '82, soooo... YES. I know how a knife, "works."

THAT said, I recently saw a Microtech knife (I'm ONLY picking on them because I SAW it - I know there are others in the same ballpark, so I'm NOT singling them out), listed for over $400! Not TOO long ago, you coulda bought a nice Ruger P-89 for LESS than that!!!

Living here in the United States as I do, I have a valid SHALL-issue carry permit (LTCF in PA), and do carry most everywhere, so I'm generally prepared (and trained!) to repel two-legged predators. In reading a LOT of blade forum posts, I see guys carry knives that look ready to skin bears, beluga whales, seal pups, deer, etc., and apparently on a daily basis.

In addition to my trusty 43 year old BSA pocketknife, I - reluctantly - bought a CRKT M-16, to stuff into the webbing of my battlebelt - as I understand BSA pocketknives will apparently NOT function during the Boogaloo, and something more expensive and fancy-looking is necessary.