Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2019, 2:42 PM
lone shooter's Avatar
lone shooter lone shooter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,147
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default WiFi in an older house

So our home was build in 1955. Because of that, the walls are made of masonry (not drywall). I suspect that because of this, our wifi signal might get reduced range. I'm thinking of getting a range extender. What is you feeling on my situation?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2019, 2:49 PM
Master_Prestige Master_Prestige is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 68
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Good idea that’s my feeling. Don’t get fooled by the MBPS speeds. You want bandwidth.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2019, 2:52 PM
sonofeugene's Avatar
sonofeugene sonofeugene is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2,252
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Depends upon exactly how your walls are made. If just lathe (horizontal wood strips) and plaster, you need do nothing. But, if there's metal in the wall or they are actually masonry, that will attenuate. Our home, built in '35, is just regular lathe and plaster so we don't need anything. But, the house is very long and narrow, so I have two extenders at either end. Office with the main unit is in the center.
__________________
Let us not pray to be sheltered from dangers but to be fearless when facing them. - Rabindranath Tagore

A mind all logic is like a knife all blade. It makes the hand bleed that uses it. - Rabindranath Tagore

Talent hits a target no one else can hit. Genius hits a target no one else can see. - Arthur Schopenhaur

Last edited by sonofeugene; 12-04-2019 at 3:01 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2019, 3:01 PM
crufflers's Avatar
crufflers crufflers is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,538
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

I still use one wifi extender and the powerline adapters wherever there is a static device (PS4, TV, Shield) that can be wired because it is not a mobile device. Powerline is stable.

As far as extenders, RE450's are solid and when they are $50, a steal.

Decent price right now:

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-PCMag.../dp/B010S6SG3S
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2019, 3:10 PM
crufflers's Avatar
crufflers crufflers is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,538
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

There are also powerline wifi extenders if you are really having to get through some solid walls to get a wifi signal... I bet that would do it.

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-AV130...dp_ob_title_ce
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2019, 3:14 PM
vino68's Avatar
vino68 vino68 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 653
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Go mesh. I hear there are some decent consumer mesh products.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2019, 3:27 PM
lone shooter's Avatar
lone shooter lone shooter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,147
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonofeugene View Post
Depends upon exactly how your walls are made. If just lathe (horizontal wood strips) and plaster, you need do nothing. But, if there's metal in the wall or they are actually masonry, that will attenuate. Our home, built in '35, is just regular lathe and plaster so we don't need anything. But, the house is very long and narrow, so I have two extenders at either end. Office with the main unit is in the center.
We remodeled the bathroom a few years back, I don't remember if it had chicken wire or the wood strips.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2019, 3:27 PM
crufflers's Avatar
crufflers crufflers is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,538
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Some routers like TP LINK Archer A7's have MESH or ONE-MESH or can be flashed to the latest firmware. Then you would use the RE300 or similar as an extender. Lots of routers are MESH, not just $400 white hockey pucks or lava lamps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2019, 8:32 PM
MikeyMike_510 MikeyMike_510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 23
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crufflers View Post
There are also powerline wifi extenders if you are really having to get through some solid walls to get a wifi signal... I bet that would do it.

https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-AV130...dp_ob_title_ce
That is the way to go. I recommend it. I tossed a couple at my work (commercial building - 23,000 sq feet and it worked. Was just a temporary solution until my contractor was able to run more cabling.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-04-2019, 8:40 PM
d0091sa d0091sa is online now
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 21
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Why do folks buy the cheap home stuff when the ubiquiti products are faster, better, more secure, more stable, with more control?

Give ubiquiti a look.... You could do their access points across the brick walls linked via cat6 and be done with a stupid fast connection

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-05-2019, 4:57 AM
ibanezfoo's Avatar
ibanezfoo ibanezfoo is online now
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wimberley, TX
Posts: 7,077
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lone shooter View Post
So our home was build in 1955. Because of that, the walls are made of masonry (not drywall). I suspect that because of this, our wifi signal might get reduced range. I'm thinking of getting a range extender. What is you feeling on my situation?
Is it a single story with easy attic or crawl space access? Just hardwire it. Its easy and more reliable than wifi.
__________________
"A rational mind does not work under compulsion; it does not subordinate its grasp of reality to anyone’s orders, directives, or controls; it does not sacrifice its knowledge, its view of the truth, to anyone’s opinions, threats, wishes, plans, or “welfare.” Such a mind may be hampered by others, it may be silenced, proscribed, imprisoned, or destroyed; it cannot be forced; a gun is not an argument."
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-05-2019, 7:44 AM
lone shooter's Avatar
lone shooter lone shooter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,147
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

So, I got a TP Link range extender to work with my Asus AC1750 dual band router. After some fiddling with it I was able to configure it properly and all my devices are happy including my Blink cameras. The house is now blanketed by 2.4GHz, 5.GHz, Extended 2.4GHz, and Extended 5GHz.

Spectrum recently upgraded my service to 200MHz too, so firing on all cylinders for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-05-2019, 8:24 AM
MikeyMike_510 MikeyMike_510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 23
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

So do you now have different and additional SSIDs? One for Wifi_EXT or Extended? That's the issue with some of these extenders it's just a bridge and it creates an additional network. iPhone for example cannot bounce between both networks and figure out which has the better signal.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-05-2019, 8:26 AM
d0091sa d0091sa is online now
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 21
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyMike_510 View Post
So do you now have different and additional SSIDs? One for Wifi_EXT or Extended? That's the issue with some of these extenders it's just a bridge and it creates an additional network. iPhone for example cannot bounce between both networks and figure out which has the better signal.
That's why we use the ubiquiti access points and configure so that there is a single ssid and meshing takes place. Same type of handoff you get with cellular.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-05-2019, 9:15 AM
crufflers's Avatar
crufflers crufflers is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8,538
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyMike_510 View Post
So do you now have different and additional SSIDs? One for Wifi_EXT or Extended? That's the issue with some of these extenders it's just a bridge and it creates an additional network. iPhone for example cannot bounce between both networks and figure out which has the better signal.
Using extenders like the RE450 with a router like the C7 or A7 there is one SSID, switching is automatic. I have used the type of cheap $30 "extenders" where it creates another network - not ideal to say the least. The TP Link Archer C7 and a RE450 might cost you $120 and covers 5k sq ft. If you have any dark corners you can simply plug in another RE450. I would assume the same can be said for the Archer A7 V5.0 / RE300 (One Mesh). If I was buying today I'd probably try the One Mesh setup.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-05-2019, 9:48 AM
lone shooter's Avatar
lone shooter lone shooter is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,147
iTrader: 16 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crufflers View Post
Using extenders like the RE450 with a router like the C7 or A7 there is one SSID, switching is automatic. I have used the type of cheap $30 "extenders" where it creates another network - not ideal to say the least. The TP Link Archer C7 and a RE450 might cost you $120 and covers 5k sq ft. If you have any dark corners you can simply plug in another RE450. I would assume the same can be said for the Archer A7 V5.0 / RE300 (One Mesh). If I was buying today I'd probably try the One Mesh setup.
Pretty much this. And yes, I'm using the RE450. It does a handshake with your router/network to extend the range. So far, so good. Our home is single story 1800 sq ft.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-05-2019, 12:26 PM
sholling's Avatar
sholling sholling is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,353
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibanezfoo View Post
Is it a single story with easy attic or crawl space access? Just hardwire it. It's easy and more reliable than wifi.
This! Most (not all) range extenders extend the wifi network at half their rated speed so I don't recommend them when there is the possibility of running cables. Even if you need wifi at the other end of the house. You can almost always repurpose an old router, hardwire it, and use it as an access point at the other end of the house.

OP, before you buy a bunch of range extenders I suggest that you try placing your router in the center of the house and as high as possible. I remember helping a frustrated friend with poor wifi who had spent money on unneeded range extenders when the real problem was his wifi router was hidden under a desk at the far end of the house.
__________________
"Government is the great fiction, through which everybody endeavors to live at the expense of everybody else." --FREDERIC BASTIAT--

Proud Life Member: National Rifle Association, the Second Amendment Foundation, and the California Rifle & Pistol Association
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-05-2019, 7:44 PM
MikeyMike_510 MikeyMike_510 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 23
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d0091sa View Post
That's why we use the ubiquiti access points and configure so that there is a single ssid and meshing takes place. Same type of handoff you get with cellular.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Think the previous tenant at my work left a couple around. I am taking them with me haha.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:06 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2018, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
Calguns.net and The Calguns Foundation have no affiliation and are in no way related to each other.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.