Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > OUTDOORS, HUNTING AND SURVIVAL > Survival and Preparations
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Survival and Preparations Long and short term survival and 'prepping'.

Old 02-20-2021, 9:09 PM

Default Emergency food

So I’m fairly new to suburban prepping, and I wanted to get your professional opinion on this:

Is it worth it? Is there something better I should look into?

Thanks in advance

Last edited by SomeGuy75; 02-20-2021 at 9:15 PM..
Old 02-20-2021, 9:47 PM
Administrator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime

That is, of course, the Costco ad - https://www.costco.com/mountain-hous...100642273.html

You need to discover total calories in the kit - ignore 'servings'.

An adult man needs about 3000 Cal/day; a woman about 2500 Cal/day

I just pulled out a can of Nalley's Turkey Chili with beans - 520 calories in the can, costs about $1.50. 10 cans, equivalent content, would feed 1 man, 1 woman, for 1 day, for about $15.

Weighs 1 lb 0.4 oz. There might easily be reasons to carry lighter forms of food, but you pay extra for the pleasure, and still have to have the water to re-hydrate it.

ETA here's an approximately equivalent collection from Mountain House - https://mountainhouse.com/collection...cy-food-supply
Quote:
An emergency supply of breakfast, lunch & dinner for 1 person, for 96 hours. This stackable kit contains 24 total servings of Mountain House’s acclaimed easy-to-make entrees. With approximately 1,735 calories each day, ....
or, 6,940 in the kit - 2 days and a meal for a man, 3 days for a woman - list price is $99; needs 16 cups of water to rehydrate 53.4 oz of product.

Last edited by Librarian; 02-20-2021 at 11:47 PM..
Old 02-20-2021, 10:21 PM