Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-19-2020, 4:08 PM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Away from large terrorist targets..
Posts: 7,964
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default OMG STILL loving it! 500/500


<$44/month
__________________
A Soldered SSD and RAM makes people buy new machines instead of being able to upgrade... Good thing this is standard in many Apple products now... ... ...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2020, 5:13 PM
The War Wagon's Avatar
The War Wagon The War Wagon is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: da' 'BURGH
Posts: 7,531
iTrader: 20 / 100%
Thumbs up

NOT too shabby...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2020, 8:04 AM
MrBlazito's Avatar
MrBlazito MrBlazito is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 953
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

frontier's website is stupid. i checked if they provide internet service for my address. it shows me 3 choices. fiber starting at $39. but does not show what kind of speeds. Then I check if they have bundle available for my area, suddenly it shows no service available for my area. They have a location 5 min from me. How can service not be available in my area?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2020, 11:49 AM
Jel's Avatar
Jel Jel is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,414
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlazito View Post
frontier's website is stupid. i checked if they provide internet service for my address. it shows me 3 choices. fiber starting at $39. but does not show what kind of speeds. Then I check if they have bundle available for my area, suddenly it shows no service available for my area. They have a location 5 min from me. How can service not be available in my area?

It all depends where the fiber is running. If it is not laid in your neighborhood then, yeah, "no soup for you".



Or, the fiber is there, but it is owned by another telco/provider.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2020, 12:08 PM
Skip_Dog's Avatar
Skip_Dog Skip_Dog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 1,912
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

That upload is insane...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2020, 6:42 AM
ibanezfoo's Avatar
ibanezfoo ibanezfoo is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wimberley, TX
Posts: 7,362
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBlazito View Post
frontier's website is stupid. i checked if they provide internet service for my address. it shows me 3 choices. fiber starting at $39. but does not show what kind of speeds. Then I check if they have bundle available for my area, suddenly it shows no service available for my area. They have a location 5 min from me. How can service not be available in my area?
I lot of times you just have to call them and make them call the techs. I've been told that many times but their database is simply wrong. I had one with the telco box at the end of the street, about 5 houses down. I made her tall the tech and not only did I have it, I had all the options available, max speeds, etc.
__________________
And the world did gaze in deep amaze
At those fearless men, but few
Who bore the fight that freedom's light
Might shine through the foggy dew
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2020, 7:43 AM
Cuda440's Avatar
Cuda440 Cuda440 is offline
Probably PUI
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastvale
Posts: 3,194
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

my neighborhood was built with AT&T fiber, the only other options are cable or satellite.

I get about 125mbps up/down, it costs $60 per month with no contract, no discounts, no bundle.

500 for $44 would be awesome, though i have no idea how i would ever need that much speed
__________________
Rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the rights of the individual.

Thomas Jefferson

Last edited by Cuda440; 05-21-2020 at 9:07 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2020, 9:01 AM
therealnickb's Avatar
therealnickb therealnickb is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Probably not in any line.
Posts: 6,188
iTrader: 49 / 100%
Default

Their website shows 115Mbs as the fastest plan. And only 45Mbs in my area.
__________________
There is nothing so tragic as the loss of a child. Parents and teachers have the right to protect them. They should also have the ability. 911 isnít enough.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-22-2020, 8:55 AM
MrBlazito's Avatar
MrBlazito MrBlazito is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 953
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuda440 View Post
my neighborhood was built with AT&T fiber, the only other options are cable or satellite.

I get about 125mbps up/down, it costs $60 per month with no contract, no discounts, no bundle.

500 for $44 would be awesome, though i have no idea how i would ever need that much speed
16K porn.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2020, 8:59 AM
daveinwoodland's Avatar
daveinwoodland daveinwoodland is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 6,499
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

That's the downside of our Gig cable account we get 1GB down but only 12MB up. Luckily I never have to send any large files anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-22-2020, 12:28 PM
MrFancyPants's Avatar
MrFancyPants MrFancyPants is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 631
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip_Dog View Post
That upload is insane...
It's usable.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-22-2020, 3:40 PM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Away from large terrorist targets..
Posts: 7,964
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cuda440 View Post
my neighborhood was built with AT&T fiber, the only other options are cable or satellite.

I get about 125mbps up/down, it costs $60 per month with no contract, no discounts, no bundle.

500 for $44 would be awesome, though i have no idea how i would ever need that much speed
Your username is CUDA, but you don't d/load Linux Distro ISOs?
Slackware 2.5GB ISO takes under a minute to d/load via torrent with no open (poked) ports in the router for torrents.


A regular HD stream (regular Youtube, or Netflix, as I have no 4K TVs) burns-up only an AVG about 1.5Mb/sec, up to 3Mbps MAX, in my testing.
Kids do whatever you want on the Internet...
I've got UNLIMITED BANDWIDTH TO BLOW.

I have had more issues since the new ONT was installed, well before that as they had no clue what they were doing and tried to switch me to 500/500 when my old ONT didn't support it, but pretty solid compared to people on Cable, for sure.
With the old Verizon FiOS, and before no changes accept account related, it was never down.

Frontier actually declared bankruptcy April 14, 2020, at 11:06 p.m. so I have no clue what will happen now...
I don't know if I would stay with them if Google bought Frontier, stay or go, but for now I am good!
__________________
A Soldered SSD and RAM makes people buy new machines instead of being able to upgrade... Good thing this is standard in many Apple products now... ... ...

Last edited by the86d; 05-22-2020 at 4:02 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-22-2020, 3:57 PM
Cuda440's Avatar
Cuda440 Cuda440 is offline
Probably PUI
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastvale
Posts: 3,194
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the86d View Post
Your username is CUDA, but you don't d/load Linux Distro ISOs?
Slackware 2.5GB ISO takes under a minute to d/load via torrent with no open (poked) ports in the router for torrents.


A regular HD stream (regular Youtube, or Netflix, as I have no 4K TVs) burns-up only an AVG about 1.5Mb/sec, up to 3Mbps MAX, in my testing.
BANDWIDTH TO BLOW.
Check my avatar- im a car guy not a computer guy. I can build my own PC or repair it, but I also use windows and chrome because hardware is easy, software confuses me
__________________
Rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the rights of the individual.

Thomas Jefferson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:50 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2020, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.
All opinions, statements and remarks made by Calguns.net on this web site and elsewhere are solely attributable to Calguns.net.
Tactical Pants Tactical Boots Tactical Gear Military Boots 5.11 Tactical