Calguns.net

Calguns.net (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/index.php)
-   Survival and Preparations (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/forumdisplay.php?f=297)
-   -   What medical supplies to keep stocked at home for post event? (https://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=1805225)

TheChief 07-04-2022 5:08 PM

What medical supplies to keep stocked at home for post event?

I was an EMT 30 years ago and am a current WFR and have built a kit based on my skill set and what I am willing to do post-event. The list below is what I am working towards having at my home and BOL. It is not intended for carrying or having in the vehicle.

I have a number of large rugged bins that I had used to contain all the extra first aid gear I had accumulated over the past decade going through training and being the first aider for a number of multi-night events for hundreds of campers. I was giving some thought to what I would want to have in stock should an event occur and I wanted to provide health and trauma coverage for my family and neighbors, when hospitals were no longer available. The list below is what I came up with based on my capabilities and what I would be willing to do. The list only contains items, not numbers. I am still working up that part of the effort but if you use the list as the basis for your supplies, you will need to use your own numbers based on your circumstances.

So while I know internal bleeding and some gun shots are beyond my skills, I would try to treat a sucking chest wound, lacerations, broken bones, skin infections and other injuries that may occur and would be deadly but for proper care someone like me could provide to my family and neighbors. Think what doctors could do back in the 1800's but with germ theory, hygiene, and antibiotics.

Wound Care
• Dressings, Pads, and Sponges
  • Gauze, 2" x 2", sterile
  • Gauze, 4" x 4", sterile
  • Gauze sponge, 3” x 3”, non-sterile
  • Gauze sponge, 4” x 4”, non-sterile
  • Gauze rolls, 3”