PDA

View Full Version : 223 case prep reloading question

Leadingall
10-10-2014, 11:34 AM
I'm fairly new to reloading and I've loaded quite a bit of pistol ammo. I'm stocked up on used brass for 223 and I'm about to start reloading for that caliber. Here is the order I anticipate I'll use for case prep...
1) deprime
2) tumble
3) trim (and measure)
4) deburr
6) swage
5) lube
7) reload (resize --> prime --> charge --> seat --> crimp)
8) case gage, inspect

Am I missing anything? Do I have to resize before I trim? I'm using both a worlds finest case trimmer and/or a lymans universal.

thegreatcow
10-10-2014, 11:45 AM
I'm fairly new to reloading and I've loaded quite a bit of pistol ammo. I'm stocked up on used brass for 223 and I'm about to start reloading for that caliber. Here is the order I anticipate I'll use for case prep...
1) deprime
2) tumble
3) trim (and measure)
4) deburr
6) swage
5) lube
7) reload (resize --> prime --> charge --> seat --> crimp)
8) case gage, inspect

Am I missing anything? Do I have to resize before I trim? I'm using both a worlds finest case trimmer and/or a lymans universal.

Personally I would do the resize step before the trimming. The resize process stretches the metal a little and I'd rather do the trimming afterwards to ensure I'm not going to be moving things around. Also a lot of FL resizing dies will deprime the brass anyway so you might as well combine those two steps in one shot. Other than that, that process looks good.

roc_my_tims
10-10-2014, 11:49 AM
I tumble first.
1) so i dont have to get media out of primer pocket individually

2) because im going to clean the pocket when i deburr

I also end up running it in the tumbler a 2nd time anyway to get case lube off.

I guess in my head the first timber is to keep my dies free of dirt and to be able to easily inspect the brass. But ofcourse you dont have to clean before depriming.

*My opinion is worth what it cost

Leadingall
10-10-2014, 11:52 AM