PDA

View Full Version : Revolver vs. semi-auto, is one better?

SoCalEnthusiast
12-07-2013, 10:46 AM
I know this has probably been discussed time and time again but I'm a newbie and was wondering... Do all cops carry a semi-auto these days because they're superior to the revolver? I know the benefits of each, but which one has the edge over the other?

Obviously you have the benefit of having more rounds in a semi-auto, but the reliability isn't there compared to the revolver?

Anyone want to shed some light on this? Would it be a fair statement that a 9mm with 15-17 rds is more superior than lets say a .357 with 6 rds? I know the .357 packs a bigger punch, but does the 9mm outweigh the .357?

beerman
12-07-2013, 11:00 AM
Each has their place. LEO would pick the auto due to capacity. Reliability wise
its a toss up. Ballistically wise the 357 has more energy than the 9,but a well placed bullet will kill you,even a 22. In short, the auto lets one put more lead out, faster and with faster reloads. I prefer wheel guns for target shooting

trigger945
12-07-2013, 11:01 AM
I think it has a lot to do with the training the operator got and with the operator's comfort level. There are speed loaders and moon clips available for the revolver and there are many videos showing how quickly one can reload a revolver.

There are also .357 mag revolvers that are capable of 8 shots, just like the 627 and the 327. The extra rounds plus the punch of a .357 mag round plus a bunch of moon clips ready to go can make a trained operator very capable - as capable as a trained operator using a semi-auto handgun.

Scuba951
12-07-2013, 11:05 AM
No.

hermosabeach
12-07-2013, 11:07 AM
I grew up with wheel guns. I tried a Glock in 1994 and fell in love with the platform.

I don't see any advantage in reliability to a revolver to a semi.

If one fell in the mud I can see grit locking up the gap between the cylender as fast with a revolver as with a modern pistol.