PDA

View Full Version : Ruger Redhawk Trigger Concern

10mmOutdoors
08-29-2013, 11:35 AM
I have an issue with the trigger rubbing on the trigger guard. This is a recent purchase and I didn't notice any grittiness at time of purchase but it could have very well been there. It's not noticeable to me when I pull the trigger but I can really feel it during reset. I'm new to revolvers, so I'm wondering if this is inherent to Ruger revolvers ? The scratches are only on one side of the trigger, which makes me think that the trigger is not centered. The tolerance between the trigger and the guard is very tight too. I can't see how adjusting could be possible. I have a S&W 686 and I don't have the rubbing issue on that one. Granted, the action is different. Any insight from you revolver folks is appreciated. Look to the dark scratches ,behind the trigger, in the pic.

http://i594.photobucket.com/albums/tt28/jkrob08/050_zps09d2ca5b.jpg (http://s594.photobucket.com/user/jkrob08/media/050_zps09d2ca5b.jpg.html)

john323
08-29-2013, 3:04 PM
Is it rubbing on the top near the frame or on the bottom of the trigger guard?

Chief-7700
08-29-2013, 3:21 PM
Take it apart and see where the trigger is rubbing.

'ol shooter
08-29-2013, 4:54 PM
Contact Ruger directly, do not disassemble it. They have excellent Customer Service, and they will take care of you.

10mmOutdoors
08-29-2013, 11:40 PM
Contact Ruger directly, do not disassemble it. They have excellent Customer Service, and they will take care of you.

Ruger does have excellent customer service.

10mmOutdoors
08-29-2013, 11:44 PM
Is it rubbing on the top near the frame or on the bottom of the trigger guard?

It looks to be the frame upon closer inspection.

ar15barrels
08-30-2013, 1:05 AM
It's a firearm, not a Rolex.
Most of my revolvers have little drag marks like that on hammers or triggers if you actually use them a lot.
If you keep them locked in the safe and never fire them, they will stay scratch-free...

10mmOutdoors