PDA

View Full Version : M1A bipod mount


Caribouriver
07-15-2013, 4:46 PM
Can I just replace the forward bolt in the photo and replace it with a sling swivel stud for mounting a Harris? That would be simple and cheap. Is it so simple and cheap it wouldn't work? Thanks

slopoke
07-16-2013, 1:55 AM
I use the Sadlak reinforced QD post on all of my M1A's.

http://sadlak.com/si_qd_post_assy.html

Caribouriver
07-16-2013, 2:08 PM
Slopoke:
I have a synthetic stock. Did you have to grind away a lot of material in order to get the interior plate down below the gas tube?

slopoke
07-16-2013, 5:37 PM
Slopoke:
I have a synthetic stock. Did you have to grind away a lot of material in order to get the interior plate down below the gas tube?

No, just mark the outline of the inner piece on the stock. Use a dremel or die grinder and get it to sit flush with the stock. I've done a few of them, not too hard of a job, just go slow and check the fit often.

fettonya
07-16-2013, 6:27 PM
I'm glad this was addressed. Would it be the same scenario for a wood stock? File or dremel the wood the same?

sdsu
07-17-2013, 5:50 AM
Go with the Sadlak!

glockman19
07-17-2013, 5:54 AM
I had the QD stud installed by Springfield.

slopoke
07-17-2013, 8:09 AM
I'm glad this was addressed. Would it be the same scenario for a wood stock? File or dremel the wood the same?

Yes. I have installed the QD post on both synthetic and wood stocks.