PDA

View Full Version : S&W M&P .40 FS vs Glock 23, pros, cons

USMC 82-86
05-02-2012, 6:01 PM
Well I am checking out both guns. I know the full size M&P is not exactly the same size as a G23. I like the size of the G23 and I prefer the FS M&P vs the compact M&P.

I have shot both at the range and shoot both guns well. The M&P feels a little better than the Glock but not so much as to be a deal breaker. I do like the look of the M&P better no question. I have a G19 and it is a great gun so I am familiar with the Glock and the way it shoots. I have no experience with either gun in .40 cal other than range time with a rental of each gun. I have a Sig p226R in .40 and it is a shooter.

I am looking for pros and cons of each gun based on personal experience. I know all about the which ever feels best or shoots best responses, as I mentioned I can live with either gun as far as feel and my ability to shoot them well.

I am basically looking for what you like or don't like about each gun based on your experience with each gun and specifically in .40 cal.

If you have had issues what are they and were they easily corrected or made good. I have searched the internet but prefer to hear from folks here based on personal experience. If you own both even better. Is the M&P as reliable as the Glock? All info appreciated.

ArcherDog
05-02-2012, 6:43 PM
I went with the M&P because it looked better and felt better in my hands.

lilro
05-02-2012, 7:38 PM
Buy the G23 and a lonewolf 9mm conversion barrel. Then sell the G19. Then buy the M&P.

Roscoes Dad
05-02-2012, 7:41 PM
I have 1 of each + have 9mm conversion barrels for both .No issues ever both guns have worked flawlessly with any ammo I've run through them(2000 + rds ea).
The M&P feels better in my hand my wife likes the Glock.We both prefer the trigger feel and reset of the G23. Can't really say anything bad about either.

Just to clarify: my problem with the feel on the G23 is the finger grooves ,I have thick fingers and