PDA

View Full Version : When do you toss your brass?

semperfidelis354
06-30-2011, 8:54 PM
So as I am still new to reloading I want to know what the signs are for tossing your brass? When is a dimple too large? What are the signs of stress marks yOur looking for etc? Every little bit helps and could potentially save a new hand loader his well... Hand lol.

Pics from your discard pile is appreciated and wanted very much. I'm a visual learner :). Thanks for the help!

joelogic
06-30-2011, 9:13 PM
I usually lose brass before the end of its service life. But when a primer seats way too easily I usually kick it out.

kurac
06-30-2011, 9:40 PM
A lot of my brass is self tossing (it gets lost at the range) the rest of it normally will get loose primer pockets and then will get tossed manually.

Anything with neck splits or bulges in the wrong places gets tossed as well.

I am more worred about rifle brass than pistol brass so I always take a close look after tumbling. Sometimes they just split on you for no reason.

iareConfusE
06-30-2011, 11:08 PM
I shoot em til they crack.

Whiterabbit
06-30-2011, 11:17 PM
dimples get ironed out during the unloading process.

Kokopelli
07-01-2011, 5:54 AM
Dimples and small dents are fine. Deep scratches and gouges get tossed. Also anything on the neck that looks like it could develop into a split when fired.

Out of 300 7.62X39 once fired brass, I tossed 10 yesterday.

huckberry668
07-01-2011, 9:08 AM
Good points on the primer pocket thing. you'll see smoke coming out if you get one of those and sometimes the primer pops out and jams up the action.

pistol brass is easy to spot. toss when you see case mouth split or cracks anywhere. I toss them when the rim gets raggedy or chewed up by extractors.