PDA

View Full Version : Difference in nickel & brass cases....

fabguy
06-15-2011, 6:02 PM
I am still new to reloading, and was wondering what is the benefits of brass cases VS nickel cases. I will be reloading .40 S&W and 9mm and have an abundance of both of them.If it helps here is what I will be using for these rounds
6.2 gr. HS-6 powder
CCI small pistol primers
115gr FMJ (9mm)
155 - 180 gr. (.40 S&W)
Thank you for your info everyone and your knowledge

sargenv
06-15-2011, 6:07 PM
Either works.. no advantage or disadvanage.. some people like the nickel cases because they believe the feed slicker than brass.. I've not really found any difference.. I pick them all up..

stand125
06-15-2011, 6:09 PM
I reload both just fine. I don't really know the differences, but both shoot well in Pistol calibers from my experience. You can even reload steel cases which very few people do because you can usually keep their own brass and now more nickel.

XDRoX
06-15-2011, 6:56 PM
The nickel cases will crack way sooner than the brass. You'll be lucky to get half as many loads from nickel. I can get 20 plus reloads from 9mm brass. I'm lucky to get 10 from nickel.

sargenv
06-15-2011, 7:04 PM
I've seen and read that old wive's tale for a lot of years.. but I have nickel cases that have been loaded so many times that the nickel is coming off and the brass is showing through. I get an equal # of nickel and brass cases that split at the mouth (that gets work hardened being flared to seat bullets and crimped to be able to feed into the firearm). The theory is dissimilar metals causes the splitting, but I just have not found this to be true.

Southpaw45
06-15-2011, 7:45 PM