PDA

View Full Version : 5.56 vs 6.8 vs 7.62x39

mike_the_wino
10-21-2010, 12:05 PM
Shooting the **** with my brother on the phone last weekend and the talk turned to guns, of course, as he and I had both recently built ARs. Apparently, like potato chips, one just isn't enough as we are both thinking of building a second black rifle. I was thinking 20" varmint, BB while he is thinking carbine but in 6.8. I have no experience with 6.8 but we both have pre-ban sporter KBI (yugo AK knock offs). His reasoning was that he wanted a home defense carbine. My feeling is if one wants home defense, get a shotgun but if he wants a 'home defense carbine', the KBI is short enough for that purpose.

Thoughts?
Ballistically what's the difference between the 6.8 and 7.62x39?

ZX-10R
10-21-2010, 12:09 PM
6.8 rounds are NOT cheap if you plan to take it an shoot it like a gun as opposed to it being a safe queen.

1lostinspace
10-21-2010, 12:10 PM
not much until you get out there. The 6.8 will be far more accurate but shooting 10' in front of you it does not matter, I would also like to add that .223 in 75gr JHP will kill just as good as anything else

1lostinspace
10-21-2010, 12:14 PM
I don't see why guys build 7.62x39 with AR get an AK. I also don't get why people think 5.56 will not stop a threat. The lack of stopping power is coming from military situtation where they are shooting m855 ( A steel penetrator) at little skinny insurgents. The following rounds will kill just fine, 55SP 60Vmax 75JHP 77SMK JHP on most PT or SP beyond 55gr+

mif_slim
10-21-2010, 12:18 PM
I heard the 1oz slug works wonders at 10 feet. ;)

(im not thinking clearly right now.. multi-multi tasking. lol)

.223 will have faster follow up shot, 7.62 will be plenty "knock down" power and the 6.8 will be just about the 7.62 with a whole lotta "ump" in it with both the latter rounds having slower follow up shots.

DannyInSoCal
10-21-2010, 12:19 PM
I like the extra punch from my 6.8 -