PDA

View Full Version : Help building a California AR-15

Ccraig38
02-02-2010, 11:22 PM
Hello all,

First I would like to thank the calguns community for this site and know how. I am looking forward to getting and giving help.

Secondly, I am new to building AR's, so I need a bit of help. I am aware of the current CA laws regarding assault rifles and "evil features" :mad:, but anyways, i need your help!

I would like to build a relatively cheap AR-15. would prefer a 16in barrel and a flat top upper, the rest is what-ever-works. i plan on using this for home defense, and just regular recreational shooting. I'm not sure which parts need to be dealt with at the FLL dealer, so I would also need help there. So, if you guys could point me in the right direction for parts, prices, models, etc. it would be a huge help. thank you in advance for the help, and i look forward to getting to know everyone.

Regards,

Calvin

Flogger23m
02-02-2010, 11:32 PM
If you want a home defense gun, then make it featureless. Get a solar tactical grip wrap and make sure you have no evil features, as well as being off list.

I wouldn't want to fumble around with a bullet button in that kind of a situation.

technique
02-03-2010, 12:10 AM
The lower. Stripped or assembled is the part needed for an FFL.

What is your actual budget?

Ccraig38
02-03-2010, 7:57 AM
The lower. Stripped or assembled is the part needed for an FFL.

What is your actual budget?

My actual buget is around 1000.00 with no add-ons, IE, sight. I am thinking about getting an EO Tech, but that will be from a different fund :D. So just for the gun itself. All i really need is to buy the lower from the FLL dealer, and the rest I can just get online? and ship right to the house?

Ccraig38
02-03-2010, 7:59 AM
If you want a home defense gun, then make it featureless. Get a solar tactical grip wrap and make sure you have no evil features, as well as being off list.