PDA

View Full Version : 6.8SPC Question

orb451
09-29-2009, 1:43 PM
Hello all, I'm a newb and I'm looking to put together an AR chambered in 6.8SPC. Ammo prices seem to be pretty decent for this caliber, am I wrong in thinking that this would be a good caliber to go with for long range shooting (300-500+ yds)? I was going to get a 24" upper, do I need anything special for the lower in terms of sizing or will the typical 5.56 lowers work fine?

It's also my understanding that the mags are different for 6.8 and that's fine by me as well.

Any info or recommendations are appreciated. I intend to mainly use this for paper punching between 100 - 500+ yards, non competitive shooting and would like to "possibly" use it for deer / small game hunting.

Thanks again!

Rich.

THT
09-29-2009, 1:45 PM
Same lower as 5.56 and yes, the mags are different. For the longer distance, I would suggest 6.5 Grendel over 6.8SPC. however 6.5G is more expensive for both components and ammo.
And you didn't ask but the other different parts are the bolt and barrel.

CHS
09-29-2009, 1:57 PM
6.8SPC was designed SPECIFICALLY as a short-range cartridge to deliver more energy. It was not designed as a long-range cartridge, so why would you want to use it as one?

twang35
09-29-2009, 3:19 PM
Head over to 68forums.com. Tons of info on that site and it will answer all your questions.

gun toting monkeyboy
09-29-2009, 3:24 PM
6.8 SPC is a ballistic twin of the old .257 Roberts cartridge. It would be fine on deer out to about 250 yards, with the right bullet. It is probably effective well out past that, but with a light-weight bullet like that, I wouldn't push it.

-Mb

PaulS
09-29-2009, 3:46 PM