PDA

View Full Version : Outdoor range rules and etiquitte

SanSacto
01-12-2009, 10:06 PM
I have been to indoor shooting ranges many times, however still have not taken my rifles to shoot outdoors. I was thinking about going to South Bay Rod & Gun Club. I must say this next question sounds stupid just saying it, but forgive me I am still a newb. How do you set your targets at an outdoor range such as SBRGC? Does the range officer call a cease fire for people to change their targets? Are you supposed to pick up your brass? Because I want to. Besides practicing gun safety, what are some other general rules at an outdoor range that are different from an indoor range?

rayra
01-12-2009, 10:43 PM
Regulated outdoor ranges usually have an RSO that controls the periodicity of the ceasefires, so folks can go out and shuffle targets.
During these cease fires it is usually verbotten to stand near or touch any firearms. There's usually a line on teh ground or some sort of clear demarcation you are supposed to stay behind, to ensure no negilgent discharges can happen during a ceasefire.
There are also many variations of rules for whether you can transfer your range gear, rifle cases etc to the bench line duing a ceasefire. Many do not allow this.
And when the range is declared hot, be courteous and check that your immediate neighbors have their ears and eyes on before you fire that first shot off.

Be aware of the fall of your brass and try not to shower it all over your neighbor on the line.

If there are large number of lanes, try not to set up right next to the only other person there. Most shooters get annoyed by this, especially as most that you'll find there at an empty time of day or week are there for that very reason. Acknowledge each other, go about your business.