PDA

View Full Version : Less Recoil: Glock 34 or S&W 686 ???

huntndog
12-14-2008, 8:40 AM
Newbie here. I want to get into IDPA shooting, and I'm really hoping to get my wife into it as well. Right now, she's afraid of guns.
I'm hoping to purchase one handgun for both IDPA and HD. Recoil will be an issue for her.

I'm down to these two... unless you have a better suggestion. Which do you think would be better for her? She's strong, but feminine
(if you know what I mean ;-). Commercial ammo only.

1) 9mm Glock 34. Thought about a ported barrel, but can't use it for IDPA SSP Class. I'd get an Advantage Arms .22lr conversion kit and start her off slowly.

2) S&W 686 4" 6-shot revolver. She could shoot .38spl in SSR Class. I have a S&W 617 4" .22LR that would be a good match for practice.

I need to make it as much fun as possible for her! :D:D:D

TIA!

http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa178/surfdog_photos/GLOCK-34-GREEN.jpg
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa178/surfdog_photos/SW686-4in.jpg

gibbygoo
12-14-2008, 9:25 AM
My guess is that the plastic gun will have more felt recoil.

Batbunny
12-14-2008, 10:07 AM
Let her handle and try out the two guns if possible and then let her buy the one she likes.

I think the revolver due to weight should have less recoil, not sure though.

huntndog
12-14-2008, 10:11 AM
To me, the question would be, which would she be more comfort with during reloads ?

Thanks guys... Good points. Bet the Glock would win the reload one.

Also, I need to watch an IDPA event at my club. I'm guessing many more people use semi-autos than revolvers.
If that's true, and the revolvers have their own start time, that would be a plus. Tried to get her into golf,
but her problem is that it takes all day to play... :D

Thanks!

tankerman
12-14-2008, 11:31 AM
Better make sure she can rack the slide before buying her a pistol. A lot of women just can't do it.

huntndog
12-14-2008, 11:36 AM