Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > General gun discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General gun discussions This is a place to lounge and discuss firearm related topics with other forum members.

Old 03-24-2008, 3:29 PM

Default Making your own steel targets......

Does anyone know any resource info on building reactive targets. Im a welder by trade and I want to build Dueling tree for .223. I need some close up pics or drawing to see how the spring mechenism works. Or any other useful info I need. I already make swinging targets. But really want a dueling tree capable of .223.
It is the soldier, not the reporter,who has given us Freedom of Press.It is the soldier, not the poet,who has given us Freedom of Speech.It is the soldier, not the campus organizer,who has given us the Freedom to Demonstrate.It is the soldier, who salutes the flag,
who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag that allows the protester to burn the flag.
Old 03-24-2008, 8:12 PM

the dueling tree I have seen just swings back and forth with bump stops
Old 03-25-2008, 12:33 PM

I've got one. Here's the best description I can give you for what it looks like. You take a standard t-post and four pieces 4" of pipe. The pipe is cut at about 15 degree angle on one end (that's the top) and square at the other.

You weld the pipe chunks to the back side of the t-post, away from the shooter, so that the HIGH point of the angle is away from post and the square end is toward the bottom. To put it another way, flat part of the pipe chunks down and rotate the pipe so that that tallest part of it is away from the t-post.