Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights If it aims your firearm, post about it here.

Old 04-03-2014, 7:59 PM

Question TA31ECOS vs. SpecterDR

Im new to Calguns and live in So Cal near Temecula. I am having THE hardest time deciding between the Trijicon TA31 ECOS or the Elcan SpecterDR 1-4x for my "Go-To" M4A1 Block II build. Ive done my research on them i know the cost, weight, eye relief, "battery life" etc. But ive never used one in person. Ive looked through a standard 4x32 ACOG at my LGS but that is the only experience i have. Im hoping someone on here can help me out! Shoot even meetup for a range day so i can actually get a feel for one. Any help is appreciated
Old 04-04-2014, 9:44 AM
Calguns Addict

If you plan on doing any significant amount of shooting under 50 yards, you're going to appreciate the 1x option of the Elcan.

American Marksman Training Group, LLC
Visit our American Marksman Facebook Page
Old 04-04-2014, 9:46 AM
Veteran Member

I was in the same boat last year. I went with the TA31-ECOS because I'd rather lift my head to the RMR for close up shots instead of flipping the Elcan's lever to 1x. I almost bought the Elcan for the coolness factor but I realized that I would never use 2x or 3x so I went with the fixed ACOG.
Old 04-07-2014, 8:27 PM

@teflondog My main dilemma is eye relief. I cant stand scope shadow. And i feel the same way with the RMR but i think of possibly dropping a Docter sight on top of the elcan. The elcan only has a 1x and a 4x no in between. Honestly im curious how you like the ECOS. Is it more of a bench shooter or can you rapidly engage targets going between both the RMR and the 4x32? And how do you like the reticle?