Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Old 03-07-2014, 12:05 PM

Default Thanks Calguns! My first AR-15 build ... a lightweight ... +range time results

Hi Folks,

I wanted to say thank you for all the helpful posts in the various forums. I learned a lot search and reading from everyone elses shared experience.

Im super excited to share my first AR build.

Im very new to firearms.
- got my first handgun (springfield XD9) in Sept. 2013
- got my first AR (Daniel Defense M4 v5 Lightweight) in Oct. 2013
- i go to the range every 2 weeks (though sometimes Ill go twice in the same week) and shoot about 100-150 rnd of 9mm and 100-200 rnd of .223/5.56 IM HOOKED AND LOVING IT!

Why did I build this AR?
- I wanted to learn the intimate details of the ARs operation
- After shooting my DDM4v5LW for a few months, there were some aspects I would like to be different. I wanted it to be even lighter, narrower hand guard instead of the quad rail, less wobbly stock, even softer shooting.
- Put more money into the parts instead of paying the hidden 11% excise tax on a complete rifle (i had no idea this was there).
- I need/want more time behind the gun. I want to get more experience. For me, that meant i need to shoot a lot of steel ammo and just buy a new barrel when the barrel burns out.
- I like the feel of metal parts
- Shooting targets up to 200 yards out, but mostly 100 yard and in.
- I would like to eventually take a tactical carbine class with it in the future
- No swiss cheese or compromised parts (i.e. drilling holes in the various parts)