Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2013, 8:54 PM
high_revs's Avatar
high_revs high_revs is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,085
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default laptop network evice just went kaput

Was doing work. Not sure if relevant but I noticed a pop window go up and disappear very quick. Cant tell contents since it was faded by the time i looked at it (that quick). Minutes later, laptop network devices went kaput. I have internet since the tablet works fine. Network show nic card is active. I test by undocking and use wifi. Same deal - nada. I connect hard wire direct to cable modem to eliminate router just in ase. Same result network icon says OK with even internet access but I cannot connect to internet odd because earlier, it had the yellow exclamation point and said no internet.

No viruses I know off. Malware showed negative last night or two nights ago.

Ping command via cmd to yahoo gives IP number but says general failure where you'd see how long it took to respond. 100% packet loss.

Anything else I can check?

Didn't download nothing. Was just working via vpn. Wasn't even streaming. Nothing on McAfee intrusion that I see where setting may have changed.no proxy server set. I can't evenget to my router console. Not even my nas

Last edited by high_revs; 11-26-2013 at 8:59 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2013, 8:56 PM
Gutz's Avatar
Gutz Gutz is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Home is where I make it.
Posts: 4,172
iTrader: 46 / 100%
Default

Reboot.....
__________________
I like big guns and I cannot lie.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2013, 9:35 PM
high_revs's Avatar
high_revs high_revs is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,085
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Guess since I'm not used to tablet typing forgot to say I rebooted. Six times. Even when connecting to modem directly.

Turns out that flash of a window was an update sent for firewall. Which caused havoc to many users. Guess if I wasn't on vpn i can at least do email. Was advices to do restore point which I did. Only lasted 15 minutes before it broke again. Just won't click 100 times to allow on McAfee host intrusion. Grrrrr

Guess to be continued in the morning at the office.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2013, 9:47 PM
bako88fan's Avatar
bako88fan bako88fan is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Central Valley
Posts: 1,522
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

It sounds like you need to open a port through the firewall. It's possible that the firewall update blocked port 80 and your httpaccess (web) is being blocked.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by HP911 View Post
sweet jesus, the subject matter experts are 97!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bsandoc40 View Post
Might as well go to your local PD and just give up all your firearms. While you're at it, drive down to the border and help a bunch of illegals into the country.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2013, 10:19 PM
high_revs's Avatar
high_revs high_revs is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,085
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

yep.. it was a firewall. i enabled learn mode after i was giving admin password. that way, i can allow each and every traffic that my apps need. i was surprised even word and excel needed firewall access. this until they update the firewall policy and probably change the password too.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-07-2013, 12:12 PM
catmman's Avatar
catmman catmman is offline
CGSSA Coordinator
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 452
iTrader: 4 / 100%
Default

Yeah I love running netstat -a and trying to figure out what all that crap really is if I get bored.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 6:23 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.