Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2013, 7:58 PM
Yo.Amo.Ami.22 Yo.Amo.Ami.22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Stockton
Posts: 38
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default Im so retarded, Ubuntu help

I deleted windows and installed ubuntu on my laptop. All I do is play torrents on my TV thru HDMI on this. But I had a hard time getting the picture to show up on my tv, I finally fixed it but then when I tried to play the first episode of boardwalk empire I soon found out that I have no sound. Stupid ubuntu, how can I fix it? when I go to sound output it only shows laptop speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2013, 8:17 PM
roll2li's Avatar
roll2li roll2li is offline
Senior Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The 'Nard
Posts: 837
iTrader: 24 / 100%
Default

Did you download the codec package? Are you stating the the media player runs the video, but there is no associated sound track OR are you able to run sound through your laptop speakers but not through the 3.5mm port?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh3239 View Post
You should be more worried about how to use your guns, not what guns will be "magical".
Support your resource! Become a Calguns Contributor!

Last edited by roll2li; 10-21-2013 at 8:19 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-21-2013, 8:20 PM
bish0p bish0p is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 65
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Is ALSA installed?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-21-2013, 9:27 PM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,126
iTrader: 39 / 100%
Default

If you're running ubuntu 13.04, I believe there's a kernel bug affecting audio over HDMI. You'll need to update the kernel. I recall seeing kernel patches on github shortly after 13.04 came out, but I'm sure they have the bug fix rolled into the mainline kernel update packages now.
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2013, 6:56 PM
pbsmind's Avatar
pbsmind pbsmind is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orange County
Posts: 476
iTrader: 10 / 100%
Default

Are what version of Ubuntu are you using? You might need to install the manufacturer driver for your video card .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2013, 5:31 PM
Bastard Bastard is offline
Resident a**hole
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 1,402
iTrader: 73 / 100%
Default

are you trying to run everything through HDMI or are you splitting audio?

through HDMI sounds like a driver issue, though it has been awhile since I played with linux the drivers can be a bit tricky... you best bet would be to start searching the http://ubuntuforums.org/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2013, 7:33 PM
Nobama4us's Avatar
Nobama4us Nobama4us is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sac-O-Tomatoes
Posts: 223
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

lspci is your friend when troubleshooting device issues.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2013, 10:42 AM
stonith3901 stonith3901 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 164
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default Linux and HDMI sound

Not that simple, not that difficult, but it is possible to do. It depends on various factors of things that include what hardware you are running, the kernel version, ALSA version, and what you need to get those factors working. I've done it before and lets just say you have to tell linux where to reroute the sound to. At this point, since you are using Ubuntu, I'm assuming you are running some fairly updated kernel version and that your hardware is on that supported list.

As for stupid Ubuntu, Ubuntu isn't at fault here, as much as I loathe that operating system, it did not force itself to be used. When changing to something new, you might want to test things before diving into it to see if you really like it especially if it is something that is already working and now you are stuck in a situation becuase its new and unfamiliar. I'll stop lecturing you on that and move on.

Heh, lucky for you I have found some crude notes and I'll leave this gem here:

aplay -l:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC889 Analog [ALC889 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC889 Digital [ALC889 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

We want card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
alsamixer -c 1
unmute all SPDIF
escape to save
touch /var/lib/alsa/asound.state
chmod 777 /var/lib/alsa/asound.state
alsactl store will write to /var/lib/alsa/asound.state
killall pulseaudio
test sound
aplay -D plughw:1,7 /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav

Best of luck, trust me its a lot easier now. Before I had to deal with OSS, and ALSA/PulseAudio eras. Lets just say, when you run your 'aplay' (try running it as sudo, you might get different outputs) and you see HDMI, then you are pretty much 60% there.

Last edited by stonith3901; 10-24-2013 at 10:50 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-17-2013, 5:06 PM
Yo.Amo.Ami.22 Yo.Amo.Ami.22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Stockton
Posts: 38
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Thanks to all who replied, I've messed with Ubuntu since like version 7-8 but this was my first full on install not dual boot. I updated some needed updates and its working now.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:56 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.