Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2013, 5:14 PM
klewan klewan is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,044
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default Shorted laptop motherboard

I've got a 3 year old Acer laptop that is no longer working. No fans, lights, or anything else is working. Working wall wart and 19.5 volts into the motherboard at the power jack. I pulled the back cover and found a piece of chrome plated metal nested around the copper heat sink bar. Finally figured out it was some kind of vibration damper that had come loose. This thing was skating around all those solder joints on at least half the motherboard. So I'm pretty sure it shorted something out and that's why I have a dead laptop.

Is there any fuse or circuit breaker to protect the motherboard? I've looked, but I'm not sure what a motherboard fuse would look like. It's an ACER 7736z-4088, if that helps.

Any help or SWAG's appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2013, 8:33 PM
bg bg is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Who cares
Posts: 5,211
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I do Acer's and no, there's no protection save for thermal.
Some are Foxconn others are something else.

Go to ebay, pick a used one, replace, crank it up and good to go

http://community.acer.com/t5/Acer-Fo...ns/ct-p/boards
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2013, 8:37 PM
wendys wendys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 151
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

o
Quote:
Originally Posted by bg View Post
I do Acer's and no, there's no protection save for thermal.
Some are Foxconn others are something else.

Go to ebay, pick a used one, replace, crank it up and good to go

http://community.acer.com/t5/Acer-Fo...ns/ct-p/boards
you misunderstood the question and situation.

a piece of metal broke off and shorted to points on the motherboard which fried it.

i am pretty sure there is no protection for this there cannot be. however it maybe that only a few components burnt out. unless these burnt components are visibly burnt i dont know how you could identify them for replacement.


if there were any fail safes like fuses they would have to be in between all components which we know is not the case. if anything the only fuse woukd be near the input of the power supply juat in case too high of a voltage was applied
Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

Last edited by wendys; 09-24-2013 at 8:44 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2013, 8:54 PM
Darryl Licht's Avatar
Darryl Licht Darryl Licht is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Inland Empire between the mountains, the desert, and the beach
Posts: 2,331
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

If you've never replaced a lappy mobo, you may want to have someone do it!
It's a royal pain in the south end!
So many tiny screws, many the same threads, but differing lengths, put wrong screw in wrong place and your... screwed!
__________________
Quote:
"Laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed one.
--Thomas Jefferson
Quote:
Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it everywhere, diagnosing it incorrectly and applying the wrong remedies. --Groucho Marx
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2013, 10:22 PM
dchang0's Avatar
dchang0 dchang0 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,570
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

A video camera or lots of photos is pretty much the only way to remember which screws go where... If the laptop is cheap used on ebay, don't bother fixing it. Buy the replacement laptop, swap out hard drives (usually easy), then sell the broken one for parts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2013, 4:21 PM
klewan klewan is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,044
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default Motherboard Update

Thanks for the replies. Acer does a good job of helping get the screws back in the correct spot. They mold into the case the length and diameter of the screw in that spot. So find the 2mm X 3.5mm screws and install under the battery for example.

I did some more web search and I think I found something that looks like a fuse. I think I'll take it to the Pro and get his opinion....

Last edited by klewan; 10-02-2013 at 2:41 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2013, 9:25 PM
Deadbolt's Avatar
Deadbolt Deadbolt is offline
CGSSA Associate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,590
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klewan View Post
I've got a 3 year old Acer laptop that is no longer working. No fans, lights, or anything else is working. Working wall wart and 19.5 volts into the motherboard at the power jack. I pulled the back cover and found a piece of chrome plated metal nested around the copper heat sink bar. Finally figured out it was some kind of vibration damper that had come loose. This thing was skating around all those solder joints on at least half the motherboard. So I'm pretty sure it shorted something out and that's why I have a dead laptop.

Is there any fuse or circuit breaker to protect the motherboard? I've looked, but I'm not sure what a motherboard fuse would look like. It's an ACER 7736z-4088, if that helps.

Any help or SWAG's appreciated.

Most boards have short paths built in. What you describe is halfway between "manufacture / design negligence" and "just plain wearing out"

To me it sounds like this part was intended to eventually fail. Im sure thats not comforting - so lets talk issues : does your motherboard on that comp have an avenue to of sending error codes? If you can get an error code or two, that would generally help determine if its just a poorly seated component vs total fry of an integral component
__________________
Just another Boy and His Dog.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2013, 5:48 AM
NoSpam's Avatar
NoSpam NoSpam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SGV
Posts: 700
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

If you're not getting any power to the board, but can read voltage at the power supply, then it is indeed a dead board. They are made to be replaced, not fixed. Even if it was something simple like a broken solder at the power supply, no manufacturer would take the time to diagnose that, let alone fix it. Component boards can be replaced separately, but they would not be the cause of your no-power situation.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-27-2013, 7:08 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,800
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Most notebooks I have seen with a fried board recently is because people put them on a couch, comforter, or pillow causing ZERO airflow via an underside vent, so they overheat, and they are S-O-L. The cost of a new cheapie notebook (for only surfing the Internet and listening to music) is about what it is worth in time and money to replace/repair a board from the MFR, but a new one would have a 1 year warranty.

These days most notebooks are made to last the 1 year warranty and that is it... unless you pay out the nose, but most of those only come with a 1 year warranty too!
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds

Last edited by the86d; 09-27-2013 at 7:13 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2013, 8:14 AM
billofrights's Avatar
billofrights billofrights is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SFV
Posts: 2,058
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

I regularly sell used laptops on ebay, usually 3-4 years old, and they normally end up going for 90-120. You'd pay that much for a motherboard and likely more for labor. Keep it to tinker if you like but I'd say just get a used replacement. I'd offer to hook you up but I just shipped out the last one I had on hand, d'oh!

And don't discount the experience you get from putzing around with dead ones. I used to do sales in an awful computer store until I started pulling apart dead/ damaged laptops that people gave me. Learned enough to start fixing them and now it's a pretty substantial part of my job.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-02-2013, 2:45 PM
klewan klewan is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,044
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default Update

Motherboard is dead. I asked the tech about using my OEM Win7 restore discs on another computer or motherboard, if I can find a used one. He said the anti-priracy junk won't let me use my copy on another computer. Is this true? I paid for the Win 7, so I'm not stealing anything from MS. Just want to use it on another computer. Is it possible to use it again, or am I screwed?

Again, thanks for any replies.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-02-2013, 3:35 PM
NoSpam's Avatar
NoSpam NoSpam is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SGV
Posts: 700
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klewan View Post
Motherboard is dead. I asked the tech about using my OEM Win7 restore discs on another computer or motherboard, if I can find a used one. He said the anti-priracy junk won't let me use my copy on another computer. Is this true? I paid for the Win 7, so I'm not stealing anything from MS. Just want to use it on another computer. Is it possible to use it again, or am I screwed?

Again, thanks for any replies.
Yes and no.

1) No: Licensing-wise, your OEM license is tied to the machine it came with.

2) Yes: Technically speaking, if it is an OEM Win7 full install disk, it will work on another PC. If it is an OEM restore disk, it will only work on OEM equipment. Legally speaking, it is still bound to the rules of #1.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-02-2013, 4:12 PM
ldsnet ldsnet is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,053
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Once you register Win7 with a particular CPU, it has been "used" and can not be registered with another CPU (even on the same motherboard).

As to the shorted laptop motherboard; unless you are a skilled micro technician it will be cheaper and easier to buy a new machine than to repair the old one. As fast as technology advances you can get a faster machine for less money
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:27 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.