Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Old 01-01-2008, 9:52 AM
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor

Default AK with valmet/galil type irons?

I'm new to the AK platform and am looking for a trunk gun/plinker AK style but can't seem to find one in a low/moderate price range. My requirements are:

1) CAL legal (will install a mag/rad..etc lock)
2) 5.45x39
3) folding stock
4) it must have a rear iron sight near the back of the receiver or be able to be cheaply modified
5) $500 or less

#4 seems tough as it seems the variants with this (galil, valmet, SA) are $$$. Is there are cheap way to modify a "standard" AK-74?
Old 01-01-2008, 10:54 AM
Moderator Emeritus
CGN Contributor - Lifetime

The best AK sight I've found is the Mojo sight. It's not too expensive, and pretty easy to install (if you've got strong hands, or the right tool for the job...). It replaces the standard sight, but is 100X better.

$500 sounds a bit low to me for an AK74...

"My Safety?" *click* "There, that was my safety"
http://www.huntfishadventures.com/images/nra.gifNRA Member
Old 01-01-2008, 11:20 AM
CGN Contributor

heres what i would do

buy a bulgarian AKS-74 kit from ORF

install a muzzle device to the end so you wont have to fix the stock.

buy a side rail and russion kobra mount. I know you are looking for iron sights, but anyone as far back as you want would be on the dust cover, which moves around when firing. The side rain lets you do pretty much whatever you want. Hell, you could get a railed mount and put an AR sight on there for all i care
----------------------------