Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > General gun discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General gun discussions This is a place to lounge and discuss firearm related topics with other forum members.

Old 12-31-2007, 5:52 PM

Default Highway patrol vs O.L.L.

Well it finally happened,to me anyways. Going from my old fab 10 i was very excited to finish my first OLL build. Me and my cousin decided to go out and sight our rifles at a nearby river bottom where it's legal to shoot. We decided to sight my cousins .17 hmr first and all went well. Then it came time for mine. I have a 16" bushmaster upper with a freefloated handguard built on a doublestar lower with the bullet button. On top was a new millett tactical 4.5x16x50. After making sure it was on paper at 100yds i moved back to 200yds. A few shots later i was within an inch if the bullseye. As my cousin was down the river changing the target i caught movement to the left of me in the bushes. 3 CHP officers with their ar-15s drawn on me. I could see one of them saying something but since i had hearing protection on i could'nt hear a word he was saying. When i finally got them off he was yelling " i said put your hands up, move away from the rifle and get on the ground". The one officer yelling was ticked while the other two were pretty calm. I mentioned that my cousin was down the river so there would'nt be any suprises. One officer went to get him while the ticked one dealt with me. After getting my I.D. and checking me for weapons he went for my rifle. Now is when i start hoping everything iv'e read on these lowers is valid. i watch this officer push the magzine release button with all his might to release the mag and nothing happens i feel a sense of relief until he starts cussing and getting even more ticked