Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights If it aims your firearm, post about it here.

Old 03-01-2013, 5:32 PM

Default Base and ring height recommendation please

I have a Howa 1500, in .308 win, with a 20" heavy barrel on order. It has the hogue stock on it. I also have a Burris Fullfield 3x-9x40mm to mount on it. This is my first bolt action rifle so I have no knowledge of what type of rings and bases to buy - one piece or two piece, steel or aluminum, height and style (weaver, picatinny, ?) of rings.

Thanks for your help. I'm gonna have this professionally installed because I don't want to mess this up.
Old 03-01-2013, 6:57 PM
Veteran Member

You can mount a 40mm objective pretty low, and on bolt actions in general it's best to get the scope as low as possible for a good cheek weld. I'd suggest going with a one piece base made from steel with built in 20 moa slope. The single piece construction will bridge the opening in the top of the receiver, adding a bit of rigidity as well as ensuring proper alignment between front and rear scope rings. I would go with steel not so much for the added strength it has over aluminum, but because it will have the same thermal expansion properties as the steel receiver on the rifle. An aluminum base will have different expansion characteristics than steel, which over time can lead to shifting zero or even loosening of the mounting screws holding the rail to the receiver.