Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > California handguns
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

California handguns Discuss your favorite California handgun technical and related questions here.

Old 01-24-2013, 9:52 PM

Default My sig jammed, can anyone help?

Took the baby out today, P229Enhanced Elite .40.
I went up a mountain, under some trees, there was lots of fog so we were practically getting rained on. I had 180gr Winchester cheapo whitebox stuff, and some Remington UMC mega pack 180gr. The Winchester jammed about 5-7 times through the 50 round box. Pretty sad. The Remington only had 1 or 2 out of 100 rounds. I am a noob, so please bear with my lack of knowledge and terms.

I believe it was jamming during the feeding process. The spent casing was ejected properly every time, but upon loading the new round from the mag, the slide would not return all the way forward. The rounds were seated in the barrel fully it seemed, but the part that is pointed to and says "LOADED WHEN UP" was not being lifted by the round.
I didnt take photos then, and I dont have any snapcaps, actually have some coming from amazon soon so I can mess with those when I get them, as I dont really want to be playing around with live rounds in my house.

The groove in the barrel that is supposed to fit with that part was not fitting all the way in, even though the round was fully seated into the barrel.

Excuse the mess, I am about to clean it. Wanted to post this before I get greasy.
It worked most of the time, but the first maybe, 2000 rounds, I put through without issue. Then today I had maybe 10 failures. I want to know why.
Does anyone have any ideas? Could it have been the wet and slightly warm weather? That idea doesnt sit well with me. The mags? My spring? The ammo?