Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > CALGUNS.NET > Announcements and Suggestions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Announcements and Suggestions This is a place for suggestions, news and updates about the site.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2013, 10:23 AM
Kestryll's Avatar
Kestryll Kestryll is offline
Head Janitor
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Occupied Reseda, PRK
Posts: 19,683
iTrader: 19 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Default New DNS Settings

Calguns.net's hosting company, GeoVario, has merged with Professional Edge hosting, this happened some months ago actually.

Today I received an email advising me of an update to the DNS settings to correctly point them to Professional Edge.

These will take time to propagate, hopefully this will be a smooth transition however if there are any issues this would be the cause.

If you can not reach Calguns.net on a Windows computer try opening a command prompt or DOS window and typing ipconfig /flushdns this should refresh your DNS settings and pnt them correctly.
__________________
NRA Patron Life Member / CRPA Life Member / SAF Life Member
Calguns.net an incorported entity - President.
The Calguns Shooting Sports Assoc. - Vice President.
DONATE TO NRA-ILA, CGSSA, AND CRPAF NOW!
Opinions posted in this account are my own and unless specifically stated as such are not the approved position of Calguns.net, CGSSA or CGF.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2013, 11:23 AM
penguin0123 penguin0123 is online now
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,546
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Yeah... it's not working for me. I cannot log in on my home computer, and I tried flushing dns already.

Whenever I type in calguns.net, it just goes URL unresolved...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2013, 11:49 AM
mievil mievil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,591
iTrader: 62 / 100%
Default

Also having issues. Unable to connect with iPhone, and have to direct to Google, then search calguns marketplace then I can get in the back way. Cannot get in directely either through the phone or the PC. Just tried clearing on the PC, how do I do that on the phone, though?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2013, 1:09 PM
intertac intertac is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 66
iTrader: 15 / 100%
Default

Sometimes it takes your ISP (Comcast, Verizon, etc) 24-72hrs before they will pickup the DNS changes that have been made by GeoVario. It all depends on TTL (Time to Live) cache settings. Clearing your local PC DNS will not affect this as your local provider (if they still have not refreshed) will just feed you the old DNS information until which time it is renewed. Be patient.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2013, 1:12 PM
paul0660's Avatar
paul0660 paul0660 is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ukiah
Posts: 15,706
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

No issues here, but then I gave at the office.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2013, 5:33 PM
hammerli22's Avatar
hammerli22 hammerli22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 68
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Exclamation Is Calguns.net down try this if your having problems

You maybe reading this from Calguns.org:

Since some ppl maybe having problems getting to the calguns.net site even
after flushing the DNS cache, I would suggest this idea:

Do it the manual way.

http://216.218.212.241/calgunforum/index.php

Now when ever you click a link you substitute the ip address into where it would normal be www.calguns.net and then you can get in.

Another fix for you IT types, just go to your ip properties page for ipv4 and change the default DNS to point to the openDNS.com DNS server at

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

When your service providers DNS finally gets updated you can change it back if you want.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by hammerli22; 03-06-2013 at 5:35 PM.. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2013, 5:44 PM
mievil mievil is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,591
iTrader: 62 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul0660 View Post
No issues here, but then I gave at the office.

Hard to look badass with TP in the background.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-06-2013, 7:36 PM
Doheny's Avatar
Doheny Doheny is offline
CalGuns Truth Squad
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10,548
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Would that be affecting Tapatalk access too? I haven't been able to get on using Tapatalk all day. It says something about the site (CG) restricting access?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-06-2013, 7:49 PM
freonr22's Avatar
freonr22 freonr22 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Jose
Posts: 11,785
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

How do you do that on an iPad?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-06-2013, 8:06 PM
savannah's Avatar
savannah savannah is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 1,116
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freonr22 View Post
How do you do that on an iPad?
I also use an ipad most of the time. I am having to use the manual way to connect on my ipad.
__________________




I don't expect everything handed to me. Just set it down anywhere. Unknown
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-06-2013, 8:28 PM
freonr22's Avatar
freonr22 freonr22 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Jose
Posts: 11,785
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

Finally got back to normal website on ipad
__________________
<img src=http://calgunsfoundation.org/images/stories/San-Benito.jpg border=0 alt= />[IMG]file:///C:/Users/PCMECH%7E1/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-3.png[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/PCMECH%7E1/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-4.png[/IMG]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantodd View Post
We will win. We are right. We will never stop fighting.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwiese View Post
They don't believe it's possible, but then Alison didn't believe there'd be 350K - 400K OLLs in CA either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by louisianagirl View Post
Our fate is ours alone to decide as long as we remain armed heavily enough to dictate it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-06-2013, 8:42 PM
Doheny's Avatar
Doheny Doheny is offline
CalGuns Truth Squad
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10,548
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freonr22 View Post
Finally got back to normal website on ipad
Access via Tapatalk is now working on my phone...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-06-2013, 9:58 PM
chknlyps2's Avatar
chknlyps2 chknlyps2 is offline
.
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Out in the sticks
Posts: 2,594
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerli22 View Post
You maybe reading this from Calguns.org:

Since some ppl maybe having problems getting to the calguns.net site even
after flushing the DNS cache, I would suggest this idea:

Do it the manual way.

http://216.218.212.241/calgunforum/index.php

Now when ever you click a link you substitute the ip address into where it would normal be www.calguns.net and then you can get in.

Another fix for you IT types, just go to your ip properties page for ipv4 and change the default DNS to point to the openDNS.com DNS server at

208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

When your service providers DNS finally gets updated you can change it back if you want.

Hope this helps.
I was good on my home computer but not on my phone, this fixed it for me... Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-06-2013, 11:07 PM
hammerli22's Avatar
hammerli22 hammerli22 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 68
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Because your ipad or iphone is using 3g/4g its using the telco phone dns server so you can't change that.

If your using wifi on iphone / android you can't do that if your setup at home is using dhcp. (majority of setups)

However if your set at home is using static ip address you maybe able to change or add the opendns server ip address to your router/gateway/wifi
if you long into your router and it allows that option.

If your running android and static ip you can to to advance setup and change the dns ip address to the opendns ip address.

-h
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-06-2013, 11:26 PM
TML's Avatar
TML TML is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Winnetka, CA
Posts: 238
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerli22 View Post
Because your ipad or iphone is using 3g/4g its using the telco phone dns server so you can't change that.

If your using wifi on iphone / android you can't do that if your setup at home is using dhcp. (majority of setups)

However if your set at home is using static ip address you maybe able to change or add the opendns server ip address to your router/gateway/wifi
if you long into your router and it allows that option.

If your running android and static ip you can to to advance setup and change the dns ip address to the opendns ip address.

-h
The iPhone and iPad, along with most other devices that support wired or wireless networking allow you to specify DNS servers on the device rather than having to modify the settings on your router, etc.
__________________
TL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:35 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.