Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2013, 6:45 PM
Barney Fife's Avatar
Barney Fife Barney Fife is offline
CGSSA Associate
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,443
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default Anyone here with Win 8 experience?

I have a desktop and a laptop both with Win 8. The laptop came with it installed and the desktop is an upgrade from Win XP Home.

The laptop plays all but two or three of my older 32 bit games.
The desktop wont play practically any of my games.

I'm not sure why.
__________________
"Capitalism is the unequal distribution of wealth; Socialism is the equal distribution of poverty ... Communism is socialism with a gun at your back." - Sir Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2013, 7:41 PM
orchard orchard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 151
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

Was the desktop 32 bit or 64 bit?
Did you run the compatibility test tool?

After upgrading my laptop from xp-win8, I had to reinstall a couple of programs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2013, 8:37 PM
NorCalXJ's Avatar
NorCalXJ NorCalXJ is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 3,995
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Win8 probably doesn't support them.
__________________
Terminal Lance
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2013, 9:07 PM
SWalt SWalt is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,317
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I have windows 8 on both my computers....its great if you like a cell phone format




But try the compatibility wizard....it worked 1 time for me......didn't work the other times. Or just click on properties and change it to a past windows OS
__________________
^^^The above is just an opinion.

NRA Endowment Life Member
CRPA 5 yr Member

"...which from their verbosity, their endless tautologies, their involutions of case within case, and parenthesis within parenthesis, and their multiplied efforts at certainty by saids and aforesaids, by ors and by ands, to make them more plain, do really render them more perplexed and incomprehensible, not only to common readers, but to lawyers themselves. " - Thomas Jefferson

Last edited by SWalt; 01-03-2013 at 10:32 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2013, 9:19 PM
MA2 MA2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Covina, CA
Posts: 1,131
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Install Classic Shell, for the old style menu.

I will prob. not touch Win8 (same went for Vista), I tend skip an upgrade.
Still on XP, and 7 on the laptop (still dislike 7).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2013, 9:40 PM
soul soul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 153
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

If it was working on Windows 7 it will work in Windows 8. Try right click on executable > Properties > Compatibility mode and select earlier version and try.



The other issue in some cases is DEP restriction, the game can be configured in the system settings as exception for DEP. This is enhanced security mode, which is enabled by default causing issues with some applications.



All in all it is a great OS and much improvements over Windows 7. Pick up some mouse, keyboard tricks and you will be more productive.



Sent from my Windows 8 device using Board Express Pro
__________________
Member NRA SAF CRPA FPC

"The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion." - British Statesman
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2013, 10:02 AM
Barney Fife's Avatar
Barney Fife Barney Fife is offline
CGSSA Associate
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,443
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I've tried all the standard compatibility stuff, these progs work fine on my win 8 laptop, but not on my upgraded win 8 desktop. Laptop is 64 bit, desktop is 32 bit. All the progs worked fine on the desktop before the upgrade and I reinstalled them from scratch, but each has issues and can't get them to run.

I'm wondering if it's a win 8 video driver issue.
__________________
"Capitalism is the unequal distribution of wealth; Socialism is the equal distribution of poverty ... Communism is socialism with a gun at your back." - Sir Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-06-2013, 2:16 PM
oldsmoboat oldsmoboat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento Area
Posts: 1,217
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

nvm
__________________
Need an FFL in Sac?

Every time you post a For Sale thread without pictures, God kills a kitten.

Last edited by oldsmoboat; 01-06-2013 at 2:20 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2013, 8:43 PM
walterwhite's Avatar
walterwhite walterwhite is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sac - Area
Posts: 177
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Check to see if your desktop Hard Drive is formated NTFS or FAT32?

Older XP system hard drives were formatted using FAT32. I am not sure why your games wouldn't work but at least it is something you can check.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2013, 2:32 PM
clsA clsA is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 19
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I recently installed Quake - Quake II and Duke 3D on my windows 8 system and they run extremely well (128gb Solid state HDD + 8gig ram + Geforce 470) These games never seen it so good .

I'm not sure what you have going on ...maybe a backup and clean install instead of an upgrade may help.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-14-2013, 6:13 PM
soul soul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 153
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Try two things, one is run the setup in compatibility mode by right click on setup.exe and selecting compatibility option The second most common issue is DEP setting, which can be disabled for this particular program. Win8 is fully compatible with 7, so it will work







Sent from Lumia 1020 Tapatalk
__________________
Member NRA SAF CRPA FPC

"The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion." - British Statesman
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-15-2013, 3:38 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,692
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Always do a clean install of Windows, never upgrade.

You might notice some more issues start to creep-up too, like every "upgrade" of M$ products.
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 1:52 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.