Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > SPECIALTY FORUMS > Calguns LEOs
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Calguns LEOs LEOs; chat, kibitz and relax. Non-LEOs; have a questions for a cop? Ask it here, in a CIVIL manner.

Old 12-18-2012, 8:26 AM

Default Will a ccw affect my chances of being hired as a LEO

Hello there, I have a question about ccw permits and applying for a LEO position. I live in Butte County where it is possible to aquire a concealed carry weapons permit unlike other counties in CA and I am currently a criminal justice student at Chico State with hopes of becoming an officer. I have been thinking of applying for my ccw for some time now, but I have heard different things about having one while applying to an agency. I have heard good and bad things about it. If I was to obtain a permit, would that have a negative effect on my application?

I appreciate any input, thanks!
Old 12-18-2012, 9:45 AM

Your CCW or lack of should have no impact whatsoever on your hiring or lack of with a LE agency.

If you were ever to be charged with violating your CCW restrictions that would certainly affect things.

Basically, if you have a desire for CCW and can do so responsibly than go for it. If you want to do it because you think it well help you get an LE job, it won't, so don't.
Old 12-18-2012, 5:39 PM

I can almost guarantee the officers in your oral board are going to ask you why you have a ccw...and your answer should not be "because it is my right." Just be able to articulate why you have it and just know there is no right or wrong answer.

Good luck...ps, I had my CCW prior as well.
Old 12-19-2012, 5:58 AM
Veteran Member

Shouldn't matter unless you make it matter.
Old 12-19-2012, 6:32 AM