Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2012, 8:04 AM
Justintoxicated's Avatar
Justintoxicated Justintoxicated is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Escondido
Posts: 3,709
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default M1 Garand Adjustable gas block if you reload?

So I found my load with 168 grain nosler custom comps, or at least I think I have. I seem to get the smallest groups with 44gr H4895 when testing at 100 yards.

I was reading that the Garand can group better if you also adjust the gas port, but not sure where this fits into reloading, would I be able to use it only to refine my load or would it also change the load that what works best? There's already so many variables I kinda hate to add one more, unless of course it would only be used to fine tune.

Also would it be a waste on a long range AR platform with a 20" rifle length gas and a target barrel?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2012, 12:46 PM
Orlando Orlando is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: WLiberty Ohio
Posts: 1,384
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I have messed around with the adjustable gas screw to see if I could increase accuracy but never really found the sweet spot. Some guys say its possible but for me I'm not so sure

They are not made for the AR Rifle, just the Garand and M1A. They replace the standard gas screw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2012, 2:06 PM
Justintoxicated's Avatar
Justintoxicated Justintoxicated is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Escondido
Posts: 3,709
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orlando View Post
I have messed around with the adjustable gas screw to see if I could increase accuracy but never really found the sweet spot. Some guys say its possible but for me I'm not so sure

They are not made for the AR Rifle, just the Garand and M1A. They replace the standard gas screw
They do make adjustable gas blocks for the AR-15

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/321...le-steel-matte

I hear you can adjust out some recoil and step down to a light bolt carrier group when using them. Of course I have a Young N/M M16 BCG at the moment which is the opposite of that heh.

This is the article I was reading.
http://www.majorpandemic.com/2012/06...as-blocks.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2012, 2:14 PM
Orlando Orlando is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: WLiberty Ohio
Posts: 1,384
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I stand corrected
Garand and M1A does not have gas block but a gas screw that you can replace with a aftermarket McCain or Schuster adjustable gas screw
It is commenly used so you can safely use commercial ammo. Again some have said you can increase accruacy by tuning it but I havent found a noticable difference
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2012, 2:20 PM
Justintoxicated's Avatar
Justintoxicated Justintoxicated is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Escondido
Posts: 3,709
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orlando View Post
I stand corrected
Garand and M1A does not have gas block but a gas screw that you can replace with a aftermarket McCain or Schuster adjustable gas screw
It is commenly used so you can safely use commercial ammo. Again some have said you can increase accruacy by tuning it but I havent found a noticable difference
Thanks for your input, I was thinking it might be useful for tuning if your not user a load already designed around the gun. I wonder if it would be a worthwhile purchase anyways, just to maybe add some stress relief to one of my favorite guns.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2012, 2:21 PM
Justintoxicated's Avatar
Justintoxicated Justintoxicated is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Escondido
Posts: 3,709
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orlando View Post
I stand corrected
Garand and M1A does not have gas block but a gas screw that you can replace with a aftermarket McCain or Schuster adjustable gas screw
It is commenly used so you can safely use commercial ammo. Again some have said you can increase accruacy by tuning it but I havent found a noticable difference
Thanks for your input, I was thinking it might be useful for tuning if your not user a load already designed around the gun (but us re loaders are). I wonder if it would be a worthwhile purchase anyways, just to maybe add some stress relief to one of my favorite guns. Or maybe to just get my brass landing where I want it to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:49 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.