Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2012, 3:27 PM
WiKDMoNKY's Avatar
WiKDMoNKY WiKDMoNKY is offline
Guns, Jeeps and Drones
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orange
Posts: 508
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default PMAG M3 mags compatible with 10/30 mag blocks?

I just bought a few new gen 3 PMAG's and some mag blocks (same as the ones on magazineblocks.com) at the Gun Show and when I went to install the blocks, they are not seating on the floor plate like they do on the gen 1 PMAG's.

Has anyone had this problem or am I doing something wrong? I have made many 10/30's with the same blocks and gen 1 mags and never had any issues. I tried all three of the mags/blocks that I got and they all are the same.

Thanks in advance!
__________________
NRA, SAF, GOA GET INVOLVED NOW OR DON'T COMPLAIN LATER!

"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin 1818

"A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined, but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them, which would include their own government." George Washington 1790
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2012, 4:05 PM
LMTluvr's Avatar
LMTluvr LMTluvr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Land of the free. NV.
Posts: 1,350
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

They will work. I had the same issue, you just have to mess with them a bit and they'll eventually click right in. Fired about 250 rounds with zero issues.
__________________
Slayer of abalone and lingcod.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2012, 7:50 PM
WiKDMoNKY's Avatar
WiKDMoNKY WiKDMoNKY is offline
Guns, Jeeps and Drones
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orange
Posts: 508
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

I dunno, I have been at it for over an hour with no luck. I have even tried using the dremel to get it to line up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMTluvr View Post
They will work. I had the same issue, you just have to mess with them a bit and they'll eventually click right in. Fired about 250 rounds with zero issues.
__________________
NRA, SAF, GOA GET INVOLVED NOW OR DON'T COMPLAIN LATER!

"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin 1818

"A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined, but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them, which would include their own government." George Washington 1790
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2012, 8:21 PM
LMTluvr's Avatar
LMTluvr LMTluvr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Land of the free. NV.
Posts: 1,350
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

I'm at work currently thus can't post photos of what I did. However if no luck by 0700 shoot me a pm and ill show ya how I got it to work.
__________________
Slayer of abalone and lingcod.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2012, 8:25 PM
readysetgo's Avatar
readysetgo readysetgo is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ventura County
Posts: 4,372
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

Have you tried asking the vendor? He's on here. Assuming they're authentic.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2012, 8:28 PM
LMTluvr's Avatar
LMTluvr LMTluvr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Land of the free. NV.
Posts: 1,350
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ready_eSeVe View Post
Have you tried asking the vendor? He's on here. Assuming they're authentic.
Assuming what are authentic? Somebody putting out fake pmags already??
__________________
Slayer of abalone and lingcod.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2012, 8:33 PM
WiKDMoNKY's Avatar
WiKDMoNKY WiKDMoNKY is offline
Guns, Jeeps and Drones
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orange
Posts: 508
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

They say magazineblock.com all over them and they are identical to ones I bought from their site. I ended up using my dremel to remove some material from the rear flat tab on the block and I got it to seat. But now I cannot load the magazine in my rifle when the bolt is closed and it is having issues stripping the cartridges from the magazine when I cycle it. I just emailed magazineblocks.com on their contact page and I will post in their vendor forum to see what's up.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
NRA, SAF, GOA GET INVOLVED NOW OR DON'T COMPLAIN LATER!

"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." Benjamin Franklin 1818

"A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined, but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them, which would include their own government." George Washington 1790
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-25-2012, 10:19 AM
Zachs300zx's Avatar
Zachs300zx Zachs300zx is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 486
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default Modify to Pmag M3 block

So Magpul made a few changes that effect the function of our original Pmag Magblock. The original blocks can be modified to work which will hold us over until we can design and manufacture a new Gen M3 block. We will sell pre-trimmed blocks on our site once we have the machining finished on the first batch.

Here are some instructions for trimming the current blocks to work in Gen M3 and allow them to be loaded on a closed bolt:







Hope this helps. We are working on research and design of a new M3 block, but it will be probably be 3 months before they are available.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-25-2012, 10:36 PM
readysetgo's Avatar
readysetgo readysetgo is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ventura County
Posts: 4,372
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMTluvr View Post
Assuming what are authentic? Somebody putting out fake pmags already??
The blocks man, the blocks.

What I meant by that was only to say the vendor I was referring to is on the boards here, if they weren't his (read authentic) then my statement wouldn't matter.

Anyway, Zach seemed to have summed it up!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2012, 11:20 AM
Zachs300zx's Avatar
Zachs300zx Zachs300zx is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 486
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default Gen M3 Magblocks available

We now have the Gen M3 blocks available! These are machined to the specs above since its a real pain to trim these on your own. Unfortunately, we have a limited supply but should be able to hold us over until we can increase production.

Here is the link to the product listed on the website:
http://www.magazineblocks.com/magent...-in-stock.html
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-08-2012, 9:49 AM
gunpacker's Avatar
gunpacker gunpacker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Rescue
Posts: 36
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Hey guys,
I bought some Magpul Pmags and don't know if they are M2 or Gen2 or Gen3. I see on magblocks.com that there are two differnet types of magblocks. How do I tell which mag I have ???

more info; on the bag it says: PMAG 30 Standard MAG211-BLK L04-12J18A
hope that helps...

Thanks guys for your help,

gunpacker

Last edited by gunpacker; 12-08-2012 at 9:51 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-09-2012, 9:14 AM
Zachs300zx's Avatar
Zachs300zx Zachs300zx is offline
Vendor/Retailer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Pleasant Hill, CA
Posts: 486
iTrader: 52 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunpacker View Post
Hey guys,
I bought some Magpul Pmags and don't know if they are M2 or Gen2 or Gen3. I see on magblocks.com that there are two differnet types of magblocks. How do I tell which mag I have ???

more info; on the bag it says: PMAG 30 Standard MAG211-BLK L04-12J18A
hope that helps...

Thanks guys for your help,

gunpacker
Those are standard Gen 2 Pmags. The "Gen M3" are clearly marked on the bags. The packaging for the older version also changed recently. Magpul now marks all new stock either "Gen M2" or "Gen M3".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:43 PM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.