Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Old 11-29-2012, 6:04 AM

Default Case Trimming and Primer Pocket Cleaning on a Progressive

Hey guys, I have a newbie question. I have a Hornady Lock-n-Load on the way. I'm new to reloading but I have been doing as much reading as I can with my busy schedule.

Something that keeps coming up that I want to ask you guys about is:
  • Importance of case trimming and how vital correct length is with regard to head spacing
  • Primer pocket cleaning

I would like to know what your guys think about these two steps that are difficult to do on a progressive press and their importance in reloading. I'm concerned mainly about safety for myself and my guns.

I am planning on reloading .223, .308, .40s&w, .45 ACP, 9mm, .357 mag, and .38.

I'm a volume shooter so I plan to shoot and reload a lot. I'm not as concerned with highly accurate perfectly prepared ammo as I am with high quantity. The one exception would be the .308 which can be done by breaking up the cycle and running the cases through the progressive press a couple times.

So, what do you guys do? Thanks.
Old 11-29-2012, 6:28 AM

On my LNL, I only prime, charge, and seat/crimp rifle calibers. I have a single stage that I deprime on. Then I do all my prep work.

With 223 I don't trim my cases. I sort them by headstamp and set my crimp die accordingly. I set the seater plug to seat in the middle of the crimp to compensate for small length variances. This is for plinking ammo. It's still very accurate in my rifle.
Old 11-29-2012, 6:36 AM