Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Optics, Mounts, Rails and Sights If it aims your firearm, post about it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2007, 4:53 PM
10TH AMENDMENT's Avatar
10TH AMENDMENT 10TH AMENDMENT is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 693
iTrader: 33 / 100%
Default ***********

************

Last edited by 10TH AMENDMENT; 11-25-2009 at 12:50 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2007, 5:24 PM
desertram800's Avatar
desertram800 desertram800 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Currently in A'Stan
Posts: 272
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

I would recommend the Aimpont X3 magnifier. The mounts are already made to match up. I'd go with the ARMS aimpoint mount with the cantilever spacer, and the Sampson quick-flip mount. That is, if I was a multi-millionaire and could afford the ARMS mount, the X3 magnifier, and the Sampson quick-flip mount! hahah! But if I had my pick, that would be it. You may run into height difference problems using the two different brands, and the Eotech and the Aimpoint are different sizes. Why the ARMS swan sleeve??? I think that is for people with Eotech HWS sights that want it to sit a little higher, the aimpoint already is high enough???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2007, 8:02 AM
wildcard's Avatar
wildcard wildcard is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 4,914
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

Wouldn't a magnifier on a ML2 make for a rather large dot? Not so much a problem on a ML3..

Just speculating..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2007, 9:29 AM
desertram800's Avatar
desertram800 desertram800 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Currently in A'Stan
Posts: 272
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Well, sounds like you got a killer deal on a setup then! Lucky...! How's the glass on the Eotech X3 magnifier?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2007, 10:02 AM
wildcard's Avatar
wildcard wildcard is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 4,914
iTrader: 11 / 100%
Default

I think that at 100 yds.. you may have a problem. For example.. look at the magnified 100 yd target.

That 1 MOA dot probably covers 1/3 - 1/2 of the "head" depending on how much of the bloom you want to count. If now you imagine using a 4 MOA dot you'd cover much more than the head.. you'd probably cover a significant proportion of the body.

Just imagine that same dot you see except 16 (4X4) of them..

Makes sense to magnify a 1 MOA dot or even 2 MOA.. but 4 MOA is a bit much in my opinion.

I'me deviating from your original post and you may have more experience than I.. i'm just speculating.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2007, 12:26 PM
aplinker's Avatar
aplinker aplinker is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West LA
Posts: 16,828
iTrader: 92 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcard View Post
I think that at 100 yds.. you may have a problem. For example.. look at the magnified 100 yd target.

That 1 MOA dot probably covers 1/3 - 1/2 of the "head" depending on how much of the bloom you want to count. If now you imagine using a 4 MOA dot you'd cover much more than the head.. you'd probably cover a significant proportion of the body.

Just imagine that same dot you see except 16 (4X4) of them..

Makes sense to magnify a 1 MOA dot or even 2 MOA.. but 4 MOA is a bit much in my opinion.

I'me deviating from your original post and you may have more experience than I.. i'm just speculating.
It's still 1MOA or 4MOA, regardless. I don't honestly think it makes that much of a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-12-2007, 1:07 PM
grywlfbg's Avatar
grywlfbg grywlfbg is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 990
iTrader: 23 / 100%
Default

Not sure how tall the EOTech FTS mount is but I'm sure one of the LaRue mounts will work for the Aimpoint.

http://stores.homestead.com/Laruetac...tail.bok?no=26

But there's a shorter one too. Drop them an e-mail and ask the heights.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 7:45 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.