Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Old 06-22-2012, 9:15 AM

Default ... Best Choices for AR-15 AMMO ...

Hey guys,

Got my new Spikes Tactical (factory made) AR15. I've got a couple of questions.

1. Does it need "breaking-in" process for the barrel ?

2. What kind of ammo should I use while shooting for the first time ?

3. What type of ammo you suggest for HD, if needed ?

4. And last but not least, what type of ammo used for typical shooting range (cheap, I hope) ?

I'm kinda new to AR's, and it's the most priced gun I have till date. So, just wanna do the right things....

As always, thanks in advance!!!
Old 06-22-2012, 9:20 AM
Calguns Addict

No break in needed. Shoot it with whatever ammo you find.

SD ammo is another topic and is widely debated. Hornady TAP or Winchester Ranger are good places to start...

The fate of the wounded rest in the hands of the ones who apply the first dressing.
Old 06-22-2012, 10:11 AM

I think as the last guy said, shoot whatever you want.

However, I usually just shoot either

XM193
M855

Both work great
Old 06-22-2012, 10:24 AM
Veteran Member

Reload your own!! I'm at about $.18 a round. 62gr fmj, powder, primers and my own brass. It will give you a whole new level of understanding of what your gun can do! Putting 10 rounds that you made into a tiny group is one of the best feelings in shooting!
Old 06-22-2012, 10:25 AM

Tula, wolf or bear ammo!
Old 06-22-2012, 10:29 AM
Veteran Member

Roll your own.
Old 06-22-2012, 10:51 AM

I read somewhere 100 rounds is a good start for the barrel.

For home defense , I use Hornady TAP 60gr. 24.99/20