Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-30-2012, 10:41 PM
rkt88edmo's Avatar
rkt88edmo rkt88edmo is offline
Reptile&Samurai Moderator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Contra Costa County
Posts: 9,414
iTrader: 43 / 100%
Default

dell xps w 17" screen, most of the bells and whistles. New in Jan 2011 The desktop it replaced was rocking a mix of 2002-2004 vintage hardware.
__________________
If it was a snake, it would have bit me.
Use the goog to search calguns
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 07-01-2012, 2:44 AM
Merc1138 Merc1138 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 19,255
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkt88edmo View Post
dell xps w 17" screen, most of the bells and whistles. New in Jan 2011 The desktop it replaced was rocking a mix of 2002-2004 vintage hardware.
Doesn't that get annoying after a while? I try to keep my computers quiet.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 07-01-2012, 6:59 AM
rkt88edmo's Avatar
rkt88edmo rkt88edmo is offline
Reptile&Samurai Moderator
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Contra Costa County
Posts: 9,414
iTrader: 43 / 100%
Default

The laptop roars. I used to be a quiet freak, now not so much. The fans only blow big time when the GPU is working and then I am usually wearing headphones anyways. My desktop fans (while replaceable I wasn't replacing them) had developed a number of whines that were less "white noise" like than what I have now.
__________________
If it was a snake, it would have bit me.
Use the goog to search calguns
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 07-01-2012, 2:48 PM
Merc1138 Merc1138 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 19,255
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

Look up in the sky. Is it a bird, a plane? No, it was a joke about bells and whistles that passed over you.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 07-03-2012, 12:00 AM
projectalpha projectalpha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 91
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Couple years

Intel i7
ASUS mobo
Radeon 5870
60gb Intel SSD
150GB drive for data and apps
2 Dell 23" widescreen IPS monitors

10TB external storage (RAID 5) hooked up to another media server that's attached to my projector

Last edited by projectalpha; 07-03-2012 at 12:03 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 07-03-2012, 2:59 AM
SacMacNut's Avatar
SacMacNut SacMacNut is offline
Member
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: COLORADO
Posts: 138
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Thumbs up XPS L702x owner also

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkt88edmo View Post
The laptop roars. I used to be a quiet freak, now not so much. The fans only blow big time when the GPU is working and then I am usually wearing headphones anyways. My desktop fans (while replaceable I wasn't replacing them) had developed a number of whines that were less "white noise" like than what I have now.
There is a fix for the fan speed on the dell support site. You have to update the BIOS.

Great laptop for multimedia not so much for gaming though.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 07-03-2012, 6:41 AM
Wicked Pete's Avatar
Wicked Pete Wicked Pete is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Unbanned
Posts: 4,885
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

You know I like to kid around?

My computer is so old, I have to give it an enema in the morning to get it going. Huh? No drum roll?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 07-03-2012, 7:02 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is online now
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,599
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked Pete View Post
You know I like to kid around?

My computer is so old, I have to give it an enema in the morning to get it going. Huh? No drum roll?
In the audience voice:
"HOW OLD IS IT?!"... dut-dut...ksssss
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 07-03-2012, 9:51 AM
Deadbolt's Avatar
Deadbolt Deadbolt is offline
CGSSA Associate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,589
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

built 2 months before Age of Conan came out for 1100$


I play BF3 on max settings flawlessly
__________________
Just another Boy and His Dog.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 07-10-2012, 8:14 PM
todd2968's Avatar
todd2968 todd2968 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,690
iTrader: 8 / 100%
Default

I still have a tape drive!!!
I have to use the old Calguns.2.0
Windows xp best program ever
__________________
NRA LIFE MEMBER
VFW LIFEMEMBER
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 07-11-2012, 9:06 AM
jonzer77's Avatar
jonzer77 jonzer77 is offline
Hold my beer & watch this
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Watsonville
Posts: 8,487
iTrader: 54 / 100%
Default

I built a PC around the AMD 965 quad core processor a few years ago mainly for video encoding and it is still serving its purpose. I stopped doing the whole upgrade every year thing once I really started buying guns and I can't say that I miss it. It made the decision easier once I realized how quickly they depreciate compared to guns that actually appreciate. For day to day stuff I mainly use our macbook air which had grown on me after being a hardcore PC guy forever.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrage View Post
That's because Excelsior threads are like toilet bowls. They're made for crapping in and occasionally pissing on the side of.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 07-11-2012, 11:35 AM
760practicalshooter's Avatar
760practicalshooter 760practicalshooter is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: I.E./San Diego
Posts: 5,807
iTrader: 17 / 100%
Default

Tandy TRS-80, just got the upgraded 21.5k baud card modem. It's so much faster now!


Plays BF3 on medium to high.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 07-11-2012, 11:55 AM
paul0660's Avatar
paul0660 paul0660 is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ukiah
Posts: 15,706
iTrader: 34 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 760practicalshooter View Post
Tandy TRS-80, just got the upgraded 21.5k baud card modem. It's so much faster now!


Plays BF3 on medium to high.
I feel you. My first Leading Edge, there were two 5.25 drives, I loaded the OS first then the "data". It was better than the back of envelopes.

And cost $999 in 1985.
__________________
*REMOVE THIS PART BEFORE POSTING*

Last edited by paul0660; 07-11-2012 at 11:58 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 07-11-2012, 1:44 PM
760practicalshooter's Avatar
760practicalshooter 760practicalshooter is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: I.E./San Diego
Posts: 5,807
iTrader: 17 / 100%
Default

Upgraded from:
CS gaming rig
Athlon X64 3000 x2 3.0ghz
2gb ram 800mhz
650w PSU
GTS250
Muse soundcard.

2012 Gaming rig
MSI MB
AMD bulldozer 4200 X4 (hyperthreaded dual=4 logical cores) x 3.60ghz
coolermaster V8 cooling (air cooled)
750w gold coolermaster PSU
EVGA GTX560
8gb 1866mhz Patriot Memory-Viper series
Antec 300 case with 2 out 1 in case fans.
onboard sound.

Cheap, reliable, and plenty fast for most applications.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 07-11-2012, 1:59 PM
furyous68 furyous68 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 1,459
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Built in 2008:

EVGA 790i Ultra-SLI
Intel Core 2-Quad @ 2.66
8Gb DDR3 1333Mhz
2- Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX OC'd 460's w/ 1Gb VRAM each

Runs pretty damn smooth. No glitches. Runs cool. Play's BF3 with all settings on high.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by wireless View Post
It's hard to put numbers together that are so small no one keeps track....
Unless you are from the Brady Bunch.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 07-12-2012, 8:10 AM
stilly stilly is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,004
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

Ya know, I need to stop posting in things like this. My game system POPPED the other day and I dunno WHAT it was and it seems to be running fine now, but WTF was that pop it has me wondering... Looks like I might have to replace something soon. I am playing skyrim on it now though so we will see.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 07-12-2012, 12:25 PM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,844
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 760practicalshooter View Post
Upgraded from:
CS gaming rig
Athlon X64 3000 x2 3.0ghz
2gb ram 800mhz
650w PSU
GTS250
Muse soundcard.

2012 Gaming rig
MSI MB
AMD bulldozer 4200 X4 (hyperthreaded dual=4 logical cores) x 3.60ghz
coolermaster V8 cooling (air cooled)
750w gold coolermaster PSU
EVGA GTX560
8gb 1866mhz Patriot Memory-Viper series
Antec 300 case with 2 out 1 in case fans.
onboard sound.

Cheap, reliable, and plenty fast for most applications.
Only Intel uses HyperThreading. AMD uses physical cores.

http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Bulldo...0FRW4KGU).html
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 07-12-2012, 12:29 PM
JDay's Avatar
JDay JDay is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: El Dorado County
Posts: 18,844
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stilly View Post
Ya know, I need to stop posting in things like this. My game system POPPED the other day and I dunno WHAT it was and it seems to be running fine now, but WTF was that pop it has me wondering... Looks like I might have to replace something soon. I am playing skyrim on it now though so we will see.
Was there a smell with it? If so you popped a capacitor.
__________________
Oppressors can tyrannize only when they achieve a standing army, an enslaved press, and a disarmed populace. -- James Madison

The Constitution shall never be construed to authorize Congress to prevent the people of the United States, who are peaceable citizens, from keeping their own arms. -- Samuel Adams, Debates and Proceedings in the Convention of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 86-87 (Pearce and Hale, eds., Boston, 1850)
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 07-12-2012, 3:55 PM
Rand B. Wilson's Avatar
Rand B. Wilson Rand B. Wilson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rancho Cucamonga / Alta Loma
Posts: 214
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I have a 6-year old 24" iMac that runs just as sweet as the day I bought it.. But, not quite as smooth as the new all SSD 21" iMac i'm using now.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 07-13-2012, 8:12 AM
furyous68 furyous68 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 1,459
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDay View Post
Was there a smell with it? If so you popped a capacitor.
^^^ This. Open your case & look at the capacitors. If any have a rounded top, you blew a cap.

If you know someone, it's an easy fix. If you don't, it's not worth it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by wireless View Post
It's hard to put numbers together that are so small no one keeps track....
Unless you are from the Brady Bunch.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 07-13-2012, 8:26 AM
the86d's Avatar
the86d the86d is online now
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pinko-occupied ObamaDerkaderkastan
Posts: 5,599
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by furyous68 View Post
^^^ This. Open your case & look at the capacitors. If any have a rounded top, you blew a cap.

If you know someone, it's an easy fix. If you don't, it's not worth it.
Most caps are easily desoldered, and then solder in a new one, but they usually have twins, triplets, quadruplets or more... if one goes bad.

Easier to just buy a new board with a warranty (but if you are at it, you might as well get a new CPU, and RAM to go with it..).

I have not had this issue on anything I have run (even) a (cheap) UPS and a $50+ power supply.
I HAVE on just about everything plugged straight into the wall, and it is more prominent with cheap (<$50) power supply usage.

I have also seen projectile caps inside power supplies...
__________________
"That's what governments are for - get in a man's way." - Captain Malcolm 'Mal' Reynolds

Last edited by the86d; 07-13-2012 at 8:35 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 07-28-2012, 1:11 AM
BlooDSMeaR's Avatar
BlooDSMeaR BlooDSMeaR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 600
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

After reading about all your It guru"s rigs. I Feel I have you all beat!!! Im on a HP LPR server running server 2k pro. with dual voodoo cards, and 1 gig of reg ram, and dual 10 gig scsi HD's try and find that stuff any where
__________________
IF your thinking about dumping cable and switching to DISH network please call 1(888) 707-0980 and use reference # TMR269852912
You will get $50.00 off your first months bill. Code will be valid until 2-18-2015

WTB AR parts : http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/s...7#post15317077
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 07-28-2012, 1:18 AM
Merc1138 Merc1138 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 19,255
iTrader: 9 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlooDSMeaR View Post
After reading about all your It guru"s rigs. I Feel I have you all beat!!! Im on a HP LPR server running server 2k pro. with dual voodoo cards, and 1 gig of reg ram, and dual 10 gig scsi HD's try and find that stuff any where

Found it

Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 07-28-2012, 1:29 AM
BlooDSMeaR's Avatar
BlooDSMeaR BlooDSMeaR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 600
iTrader: 5 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merc1138 View Post
Found it

LOL true but mine has never crashed, or broke since i have ran it its going on 14 years now. for a $23K investment Ill run it another 20 years!!!
__________________
IF your thinking about dumping cable and switching to DISH network please call 1(888) 707-0980 and use reference # TMR269852912
You will get $50.00 off your first months bill. Code will be valid until 2-18-2015

WTB AR parts : http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/s...7#post15317077
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 07-28-2012, 8:25 AM
glockman19's Avatar
glockman19 glockman19 is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 9,255
iTrader: 18 / 100%
Default

My main laptop just had a HD issue. A dell Inspiron 6400. Adding a 7200 500GB drive and Windows XP, partitioned.
Just ordered a dell 15R w/8Mb 3 gen i7 intel RAM, 1TB HD.
Finally, the grand daddy, a dell Inspiron 4600 mini tower, 6MB RAM, 320 GB HD, 2001-2003 Pentium III running XP sp3. I will be upgrading to a Dell mini tower, Inspiron 602 w/8MB RAM, 1TB HD... Both new desktop and laptop will be running Windows 7 w/XP, Microsoft Office Pro 2010 and adobe CS6 Master Collection. Both 1user 3 computers.
With student discount, office is $100 and the adobe Master Collection for $725 instead of $140 & $2,599 respectively.
I also learned that my HP scanner and SCSI are obsolete.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 07-30-2012, 8:38 PM
atto's Avatar
atto atto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 427
iTrader: 2 / 100%
Default

Early 2000's Sony Vaio Desktop ... 2.8Ghz P4, 2GB RAM, 80GB HD.

It struggles with today's newfangled HD videos

I want to upgrade just so I'm not using as much electricity. These P4's run hot all the time!
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 07-30-2012, 8:42 PM
wjc's Avatar
wjc wjc is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 10,588
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I believe I have you all beat...

Gateway Tower
21" Monitor
Pentium II processor, 640MB ram, 14 GB hard drive

...running Windows 98.

__________________
Some words can give you a feeling that makes your heart warm. Republic is one of those words.

-- John Wayne as Davy Crockett in The Alamo
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 07-31-2012, 9:12 AM
Dubious_Beans's Avatar
Dubious_Beans Dubious_Beans is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 3,028
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the86d View Post
Most caps are easily desoldered, and then solder in a new one, but they usually have twins, triplets, quadruplets or more... if one goes bad.

I just posted about my monitor fix. It had bad caps, but was an easy repair.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 07-31-2012, 9:27 AM
daveinwoodland's Avatar
daveinwoodland daveinwoodland is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,724
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

I think it's time for me to sell my Apple 1.
__________________
You can trust the government, just ask an Indian

Vet since 1978

NRA Life Member

"Don't bother me with facts, Son. I've already made up my mind." -Foghorn Leghorn
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 07-31-2012, 9:32 AM
teflondog's Avatar
teflondog teflondog is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,604
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

My newest laptop is a Dell Latitude E6400, but I only use it as a backup since my go-to laptop has been my trusty Latitude D630. I run XP 32-bit on both of them.

I also have a Windows 7 gaming rig with Thermaltake Element V chassis, EVGA Classified X58 motherboard, Intel i7, and dual Nvidia 580's running in SLI. I hardly use it though since it's overkill for checking emails and forums. I only have it because it was given to me at work.
__________________

Last edited by teflondog; 07-31-2012 at 9:36 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 07-31-2012, 1:14 PM
fallenknight308's Avatar
fallenknight308 fallenknight308 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Planet earth.......for now.
Posts: 513
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul0660 View Post
I always buy state of the art, 5 years later, for a tenth the price.
Yeah going on over five years here myself.
Ancient MSI MB
AMD Opteron 2 core
ATI HD 3850 agp
OCZ Gold 2gb
Seagate HDDs 2TB
Zalman heat-pipe cooling.
500w Enermax.
Asus 24" LCD
WinXPsp3.
Ubuntu Linux 12.04

Yeah she is OLD, however still running strong,
and I can run newer games just fine.
(Exception: DX11 games).
Need to upgrade soon though.
Would be nice to run Win7, DX11, Ect.
__________________
Quote:
Kurtz: I expected someone like you. What did you expect? Are you an assassin?
Willard: I'm a soldier.
Kurtz: You're neither. You're an errand boy, sent by grocery clerks, to collect a bill.
Apocalypse Now!
Quote:
"The police are the public and the public are the police; the police being only members of the public who are paid to give full time attention to duties which are incumbent on every citizen in the interests of community welfare and existence."
Sir Robert Peel
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 07-31-2012, 1:24 PM
fallenknight308's Avatar
fallenknight308 fallenknight308 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Planet earth.......for now.
Posts: 513
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjc View Post
I believe I have you all beat...

Gateway Tower
21" Monitor
Pentium II processor, 640MB ram, 14 GB hard drive

...running Windows 98.

Oh yeah? Beat this:


Lol. Seriously though, if all you do is check email, surf, and post on CG, that's all you would need.
Although the lack of security would scare me.
__________________
Quote:
Kurtz: I expected someone like you. What did you expect? Are you an assassin?
Willard: I'm a soldier.
Kurtz: You're neither. You're an errand boy, sent by grocery clerks, to collect a bill.
Apocalypse Now!
Quote:
"The police are the public and the public are the police; the police being only members of the public who are paid to give full time attention to duties which are incumbent on every citizen in the interests of community welfare and existence."
Sir Robert Peel
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 07-31-2012, 1:35 PM
jonzer77's Avatar
jonzer77 jonzer77 is offline
Hold my beer & watch this
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Watsonville
Posts: 8,487
iTrader: 54 / 100%
Default

I am waiting for someone to say they are rocking a 486 and browsing calguns on AOL 3.0
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrage View Post
That's because Excelsior threads are like toilet bowls. They're made for crapping in and occasionally pissing on the side of.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 08-01-2012, 1:06 PM
docsmileyface's Avatar
docsmileyface docsmileyface is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: White City, OR
Posts: 1,611
iTrader: 25 / 100%
Default

like 2 months - Sager NP9170, i7 3610QM, AMD 7970M, 16GB RAM.
__________________
"Soldier, you need to turn your ACOG off before the batteries die." - PMI Instructor, subject matter expert
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08-07-2012, 11:07 AM
stilly stilly is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,004
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merc1138 View Post
Look up in the sky. Is it a bird, a plane? No, it was a joke about bells and whistles that passed over you.

LMFAO! I was waiting for the reply but yeah, right over head... LoL!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jonzer77 View Post
I built a PC around the AMD 965 quad core processor a few years ago mainly for video encoding and it is still serving its purpose. I stopped doing the whole upgrade every year thing once I really started buying guns and I can't say that I miss it. It made the decision easier once I realized how quickly they depreciate compared to guns that actually appreciate. For day to day stuff I mainly use our macbook air which had grown on me after being a hardcore PC guy forever.
This is my argument ALWAYS. Really you only need to replace a piece at a time, not just go and buy a new setup. Besides, by replacing parts and getting in your system and playing around you learn a few things here and a few things there. I once lost a bet to a Chinese guy about a motherboard having a defective speaker. THAT was the one time that I ever came close to having the computer in a shop for a repair, and it was only the MOBO and believe me, I have learned my lesson and Now I have backups for my backups when it comes to testing things. In all honesty though, you only need to replace an item here or there. The ONLY time you need to replace the whole computer is under two circumstances, 1. If you own a Dell. Or 2. If you own a MAC. Maybe you can replace components on a MAC now, I am sure you can, but hey, it is a MAC so until it is a PC it needs replacing anyways. Dells are obvious. They make screwy mobos that you have to buy a DELL mobo to replace OR else you have to get a new mobo, new case, new HSF, new PSU and then just hope you did not have an OEM version of winblows cause THEN you will need to either change that over to a volume license or reload it from scratch...

As much as I hate them, I LOVE computers. I love all of mine and I mean that in a totally platonic sort of way that a man can love a machine and not a woman loving a vibrator. That latter is NOT platonic... When I get a freshly installed XP PRO OS on a multimedia system and then put in the vid capping stuff and the fast Hdd and I start editing movies, THAT is pure bliss right there. Having a properly working machine to do the job efficiently. 0o0o0 Another idea for my you tube video series...
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 08-07-2012, 11:42 AM
Rouge Recon's Avatar
Rouge Recon Rouge Recon is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 864
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

1 year old, and I can't help but look for a replacement already (which started 11 months ago).
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 08-07-2012, 1:38 PM
stilly stilly is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Currently in a shanty I made in the river bottom by Eastvale.
Posts: 9,004
iTrader: 44 / 100%
Default

Mac or Dell? (e-machine even...)

LoL...
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 08-07-2012, 1:54 PM
bigbearbear's Avatar
bigbearbear bigbearbear is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4,493
iTrader: 0 / 0%
Default

I keep my main computer relatively "fresh" at around 4 or 5 years, since I work from home (software engineer) and spend a lot of time on it. I also use it to play video games, making it the most used piece of electronics at home.

Occasionally though, I'll swap something out, video cards being the most common or HDD and RAM (when I need to run more or heavier duty virtual machines).

Other server type machines i tend to upgrade less, they mostly 6 years or older. The oldest one is a HP Vectra Pentium running Windows 2000, just decommissioned it a few weeks ago actually since running the same processes on a virtual machine is more efficient.

I took the DIY approach (except for the work notebooks supplied by my employer) for my computers. That way I can keep the case and just replace the motherboard/HDD/power supply etc. when I need a major upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 04-29-2013, 6:31 AM
dadoody's Avatar
dadoody dadoody is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14,684
iTrader: 7 / 100%
Default

My current main PC is a Dell XPS 8300 I bought for $700 during a sale in November of 2011.

Much faster and quieter than the machine I had been using since 2003.

My laptop is still my old IBM Thinkpad T43. I don't think it'll die anytime soon. Still runs awesome, but the hard drive is slow. Finally bought a new battery for it.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 04-29-2013, 7:27 AM
billofrights's Avatar
billofrights billofrights is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor
CGN Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SFV
Posts: 2,009
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

I upgrade when my box won't run the games I want to play at high resolution/ frame rate anymore. I built a new machine last July/ August, but my previous one was about 4 years old.

Current box:
Corsair 600T case, white
Intel i&-3930K @ 3.2ghz (6 core)
64 Gb G.Skill ripjaws DDR3 RAM
256 Gb Crucial M4 SSD
3 Tb Seagate Barracuda 7200 rpm
MSI N680 GTX video card 4gb ram
Asus Rampage IV Intel x79 mobo
PC Power & Cooling 950w power supply
LG Blu-Ray burner
Corsair H100 enclosed water cooler
Dell 27" Ultrasharp LCD monitor
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:44 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.