Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Rimfire Firearms
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Rimfire Firearms .22, .17 and other Rimfire Handguns and Rifles

Old 04-18-2012, 9:39 PM

Default Ruger 10/22 TD, scope & mounting experience

In light of the fact that I have had several pm's about my personal setup and have seen many questions on the subject, I wanted to share my experience.

I have the have the 10/22 TD, obviously, and I decided to get the Nikon Prostaff 4x32 with the $50 rebate (net cost $50). I am new to scopes and mounting and I did not want to mess with rings and lapping and mounting issues. Not to mention I am not the most patient person in the world and wanted to save myself time and frustration.

I went with the DNZ Game Reaper 10/22 mount (LOW) in brushed aluminum after reading countless reviews, all of which were good. It cost $48 on Amazon. I loved that the mount was a solid piece of aluminum and made mounting a scope effortless. I installed the scope in less than 10 minutes (first time ever mounting a scope). Everything looked great until I went to attach the barrel....The barrel would not attach because the rear sight hits the underside of the front of the scope. If I didn't have to twist the barrel on there would have been enough clearance. So I punched out the rear sight. Problem solved. I didn't want to send the mount back and get another taller one because it wasn't worth it to me, but had I known of the issue before hand I would have purchased the MEDIUM mount which is a bit higher. I cannot vouch that with the added height of the medium mount the scope is guaranteed to clear the rear sight, but it should. I was barely hitting the sight with my scope.