Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > INTERESTS AND ACTIVITIES > Ammo and Reloading
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Ammo and Reloading Factory Ammunition, Reloading, Components, Load Data and more.

Old 03-24-2012, 9:08 AM

Default 9mm loads with Unique powder

Hi all, im fairly new to reloading. I have been trying to find some info on loading 9mm rounds with Unique powder. Alliant's web site is next to useless unless your loading with speer gold dot. I'm trying to create a similar to factory round. I'm using Rainer 124 gr fmj with Unique powder. Any help with grains of powder or oal would be very appreciated. I was going to try starting with 5.0 grs at an oal of 1.15... any thoughts or suggestions would be awsome. Ohh also using cci 500 primers and remington 1 1/2 primers.
Old 03-24-2012, 10:51 AM

Suggested starting grains 4.5 Unique. 5 grains max is ok with the proper OAL. and if you're set on 1.15" it puts this within SAAMI pressures with a 0.4% compressed charge and a chamber pressure of around 30,000 psi.....I generated this using QL software and used the Rainer 124 gr. RN. The starting load number I got from Lyman's 49th edition.
Old 03-24-2012, 10:55 AM
Calguns Addict

5.0 as a start load seems fine as the 124gr GDHP data lists 5.8gr as max. 1.150" also looks fine. As you work up, load 1 in your mag for the first shot of each new batch, make sure you retrieve the brass from that round and watch for pressure. I think you will find Unique runs much cleaner as you approach max loads.

Last edited by Bill Steele; 03-24-2012 at 10:59 AM..
Old 03-24-2012, 12:25 PM

I run 4.3gr under a 125gr TC cast bullet at 1.09 OAL
Old 03-24-2012, 5:57 PM

If you look for reloading data ONLY for the specific bullet you are using, you'll be lucky to ever find any data.