Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Technology and Internet
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Technology and Internet Emerging and current tech related issues. Internet, DRM, IP, and other technology related discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-03-2011, 9:05 AM
Fjold's Avatar
Fjold Fjold is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Bakersfield
Posts: 20,334
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Default WiFi - Open?

I ran Meraki WiFi Stumbler to make sure that I wasn't running on the same channel as my neighbors and I see that I'm listed as "Open" where as my neighbors are not.

My connection requires a 13 Key code to be entered to access it, so what does this mean?


2WIRE027 Open

2WIRE041 WPA-Personal

2WIRE112 WPA2-Personal
__________________
Frank


One rifle, one planet - Holland's 375

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v214/Fjold/member8325.png

Life Member NRA, CRPA and SAF
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-03-2011, 11:18 AM
ocabj's Avatar
ocabj ocabj is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,126
iTrader: 39 / 100%
Default

Sounds like you're using WEP, which was proven easily crackable back in 2001. No one uses it for that reason.

Switch to using WPA2.
__________________

Distinguished Rifleman #1924
NRA Certified Instructor (Rifle and Metallic Cartridge Reloading) and RSO
https://www.ocabj.net | http://jocabphoto.com

My AR15 Service Rifle - Used for CMP/NRA High Power Service Rifle Competitions
My Eliseo R5 (Remington 700) Tube Gun - Used for NRA High Power (Match Category) Competitions
My M1 Garand Service Rifle - Used for JCG Matches, rebuilt by Dean's Gun Restorations
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2011, 5:18 PM
high_revs's Avatar
high_revs high_revs is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,085
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

i'd switch to wpa too as ocabj says fjold. plus easier to setup (vs. remembering a 16 or so alphanumeric key when configuring new machines. LOL )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-2011, 6:07 PM
Fjold's Avatar
Fjold Fjold is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Bakersfield
Posts: 20,334
iTrader: 26 / 100%
Default

Thanks, you guys say "switch to wpa" like I know what you're talking about. I have AT&T U-verse and the AT&T guy set up the wifi system.
__________________
Frank


One rifle, one planet - Holland's 375

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v214/Fjold/member8325.png

Life Member NRA, CRPA and SAF
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2011, 6:12 PM
freonr22's Avatar
freonr22 freonr22 is offline
I need a LIFE!!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Jose
Posts: 11,810
iTrader: 28 / 100%
Default

Definition: The IP address 192.168.0.1 is the default for certain home broadband routers, principally various D-Link and Netgear models. This address is set by the manufacturer at the factory, but you can change it at any time using the network router's administrative console.
192.168.0.1 is a private IPv4 network address. Home routers can use it to establish the default gateway. On such routers, you can access its administrative console by pointing a Web browser to http://192.168.0.1.

Any brand of router, or any computer on a local network for that matter, can be set to use this address or a comparable private IPv4 address. As with any IP address, only one device on the network should use 192.168.0.1 to avoid address conflicts.

See also - 192.168.1.1, 192.168.2.1

Log into your router hard wired, and check out the admin section. If you get locked out because you typed in wrong info, call AT&T and they will walk you through it
__________________
<img src=http://calgunsfoundation.org/images/stories/San-Benito.jpg border=0 alt= />[IMG]file:///C:/Users/PCMECH%7E1/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-3.png[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/PCMECH%7E1/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-4.png[/IMG]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantodd View Post
We will win. We are right. We will never stop fighting.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwiese View Post
They don't believe it's possible, but then Alison didn't believe there'd be 350K - 400K OLLs in CA either.
Quote:
Originally Posted by louisianagirl View Post
Our fate is ours alone to decide as long as we remain armed heavily enough to dictate it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2011, 6:21 PM
Cokebottle's Avatar
Cokebottle Cokebottle is offline
CGN/CGSSA Contributor - Lifetime
CGN Contributor - Lifetime
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 22,971
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Default

My Netgear was 192.168.1.0
My Belkin was 192.168.1.1

The key is 192.168.xxx.xxx
That subnet is dedicated non-routable for private networks and ONLY that subnet should be used for routers and machines behind the routers, unless a very large system is being set up and the network or a block of machines is not connected to the "outside world".
__________________
-- Rich


Quote:
Originally Posted by dantodd View Post
A just gov't will not be overthrown by force or violence because the people have no incentive to overthrow a just gov't. If a minority of people attempt such an insurrection to grab power and enslave the people, the RKBA is our insurance against their success.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2011, 3:04 PM
orchard orchard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 151
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

If you are running windows, you can also look by right clicking the wifi bars in the lower right of your screen or by going to: Control Panel\Network and Internet\Network and Sharing Center.
Then click on attach to wireless network. as you mouse over the listed networks, it will display the security for each.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2011, 5:52 PM
Syst3m Ov3rrid3's Avatar
Syst3m Ov3rrid3 Syst3m Ov3rrid3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Baldwin Park, CA
Posts: 331
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Default

@orchard: Thats only after he secures his network first...

Typical Login for http://192.168.0.1 or http://192.168.1.1 :

Username: Admin or [blank - empty field]
Password: password or [blank - empty field]

Its recommended to setup your wireless security on a wired computer. Then on each Wireless PC you'll have to modify the wireless settings and delete the old Wireless Profiles before readding the ones with Security
__________________
-- Beretta PX4 Storm 9mm --
-- Xbox Live Gamertag: Syst3m Ov3rrid3 -- YouTube
-- Guns... It's never the problem... It's the SOLUTION
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-04-2011, 7:11 PM
high_revs's Avatar
high_revs high_revs is offline
Calguns Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 6,085
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

fjold, it would help to tell us what hardware you have. regardless of who set it up, they shoudl've given you the admin access and how to manage the wifi settings. i know some of the stuff above is technical, but i'm pretty sure some of us can guide you here w/o you settling for calling and being on hold with att to change from wep to wpa.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-04-2011, 7:30 PM
jl123's Avatar
jl123 jl123 is offline
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Hollywood...belly of the beast
Posts: 4,926
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Default

Switch to WPA for sure. I used one of the WEP cracking tools on my router just to see how easy it is. IT was pretty much a joke.

Educational purposes only:
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshoebot View Post
This thread wouldn't have happened if they sold drugs in vending machines.

Last edited by jl123; 12-04-2011 at 7:40 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-04-2011, 7:59 PM
sfwdiy's Avatar
sfwdiy sfwdiy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 2,135
iTrader: 6 / 100%
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cokebottle View Post
My Netgear was 192.168.1.0
I think you meant 192.168.0.1

--B
__________________
Need data recovery? CLICK HERE for a discount on your next recovery from DriveSavers!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-04-2011, 9:33 PM
orchard orchard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 151
iTrader: 12 / 100%
Default

@syst3m - you don't have to connect to network to see SSIDs and what security is enabled (if the SSID is broadcast).
Just a suggestion as my FIL thought his was open - all those 2wirexxx looked the same, the open one wasn't his :-)
AT&T didn't bother to tell him the networkname.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 4:10 AM.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Proudly hosted by GeoVario the Premier 2A host.
Calguns.net, the 'Calguns' name and all associated variants and logos are ® Trademark and © Copyright 2002-2016, Calguns.net an Incorporated Company All Rights Reserved.