Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > FIREARMS DISCUSSIONS > Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Centerfire Rifles - Semiautomatic or Gas Operated Centerfire rifles, carbines and other gas operated rifles.

Old 11-04-2011, 7:53 AM

Default $500 AR budget

Is it possible to build an AR for $500 out the door? (Shipping costs and DROS included in the $500 budget)

I'm completely new to the AR world and have never picked one up, much less built one. I'm primarily a recreational pistol shooter and just started shotgunning this August (guns, not beers), so the platform is completely foreign to me.

I've been debating whether to attempt to build one or buy a used Mini-14 as my first .223/5.56 rifle.

UPDATE #1 (Nov. 20, 2011)
-----------------------------------

I thought I'd consolidate some of the knowledge I've gained from this thread, and from my own market research, for all the other new AR builders who might stumble on this thread and don't want to read it all.

1) It IS possible to build an AR for just over $500, but it'll take you a LOT of footwork and patience. I've done 16 days of solid market research as of this update and have come upon used parts in the Marketplace section that would get me a working AR in $500. It won't be the best AR build, or even exactly what you wanted, but it's possible. Here's what I recommend you do if you're dead set on a $500 AR:

-- Give yourself a minimum expectation of two months to scrounge all the parts together. You're at the market's mercy when you're on a tight budget.

--