Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > SPECIALTY FORUMS > Calgunners in Service
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Calgunners in Service This forum is a place for our active duty and deployed members to share, request and have a bit of home where ever they are.

Old 07-28-2011, 8:05 PM
Calguns Addict

Default Any teachers here in the National Guard/Reserves?

Is anyone here a teacher who serves with the National Guard or Reserves? I've been kicking around the idea of joining forever and I'm not getting any younger. I'm 29 and want to serve and know the clock is ticking. I'm currently a teacher and wonder how that impacted other teachers who joined since I'm assuming you'll have to be gone for at least part of the school year.

Anyone have any insights or advice on how this impacts your employment with the school district if you have to miss part of the year?
Old 07-29-2011, 11:28 AM

Not a teacher, but maybe you can investigate a little and find a unit that does their 2 weeks during the summer (mine does).

As a reservist you go in KNOWING your unit, and commanders before you even go to Basic. Also, I essentially know my drill schedule 12 months ahead of time.

So all you would have to do is find the units you are interested and ask to see their drill schedule.

Also, as a reservist you have some latitude in when you can make up any missed drill days. In fact my unit apparently is pretty crazy and has two separate 2 week training stints. We don’t have to go to both of them (in fact they really don’t allow us because of costs).

So if you want it bad enough I don’t see what would conflict with your teaching job (outside of a deployment).