Calguns.net  

Home My iTrader Join the NRA Donate to CGSSA Sponsors CGN Google Search
CA Semiauto Ban(AW)ID Flowchart CA Handgun Ban ID Flowchart CA Shotgun Ban ID Flowchart
Go Back   Calguns.net > SPECIALTY FORUMS > Calgunners in Service
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Calgunners in Service This forum is a place for our active duty and deployed members to share, request and have a bit of home where ever they are.

Old 07-06-2011, 4:34 PM
Veteran Member

Default Mortgages and Security Clearance Acceptance/Denial

I'm a Vet trying to get back into my old job as a DOD civil service employee, but my divorce has left me in a bad situation with the mortgage that went with the house that my ex got. Our divorce decree clearly stated that she would have the house AND be responsible for payments, but she has been unwilling to refinance and take my name off of the mortgages. On top of that, she stopped paying the 2nd mortgage. I'm aware that in the eyes of the bank, I'm on the hook for this stuff. I'm willing to take the credit hit and let the bank foreclose on the home due to the 2nd mortgages delinquency, but I'm not sure how this will affect my eligibility for clearance.

Anyone here have knowledge or experience in this matter?
Old 07-06-2011, 4:47 PM
Veteran Member

As long as it isn't in your name/credit and you have an explanation for it in your SF86 it shouldn't be a problem. Use the "explanation" section to your fullest.

OIF 07-09 Veteran
NRA Endowment Member, CRPA Life Member
Old 07-06-2011, 4:55 PM
Veteran Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uriah02 View Post
As long as it isn't in your name/credit and you have an explanation for it in your SF86 it shouldn't be a problem. Use the "explanation" section to your fullest.